We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, refined and romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Elegant, refined and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel itself the attraction. The beautiful lobby is glorious. As you walk to the back you will see the 2 restaurants. The view from our room to the city is was perfect. There were a lot of snow during the 3 days we stayed. The experience ware fantastic. The hotel staff is great and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    194
    80
    42
    16
See reviews for
181
421
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Positives:
Great location.

Negatives:
Small room.
Everything cost extra: internet, parking, etc.
Entrance corridor can be extremely windy.
Heater was broken.

Bottom line:
I am happy to have stayed there once. But I will look for better value on my next trip to QC.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed 6days in a Chateau Frontnac.
I had really excellent and wonderful stay.
The restaurants and bar was very nice, and every staffs were very kind.
This hotel is located in the center of the place to see, actually this hotel is landmark itself.
It was great experience to stay in the historic building.

Room Tip: lower floor rooms has nothing to see
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We chose the Chateau Frontenac for our 25th wedding anniversary get away. It was great! Stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms and it was great. Awesome shower and the best room service we ever had! We went in December so I am sure this is why the rates were reasonable. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is EVERYTHING you've ever seen or read about it! The ultimate in luxury, and service. However it is unrealistic for many travelers who wish to experience Quebec City. There are numerous small B&B's and hotels that are lovely, historic and intimate, and VERY much less expensive! Staying at the Frontenac with 1200 other people (not counting large staff) is kinda like a fancy cruise ship docked at this small wonderful historic city. If the cost of a plain small room was not so astronomical I would rate it higher. It's wonderful, but you pay dearly for this experience. A $25 hamburger, come on!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Amazing surrounding, great location, charming room, fabulous decor and professionnal staff!! This historical landmark is the perfect place to stay while visiting Quebec City. The view of the St Lawrence river is beautiful.

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my husband for two nights in October 2013. We had a room overlooking the city on a Gold floor. Even though the renovations were going on, we enjoyed our stay. This October I returned for four nights with my sister. Again, on the Gold Floors. The room was lovely. I paid the extra for a river view, and we were not disappointed.Breathtaking. Valet parking was chaos, but better than last year. The woman who checked us in on the fourteenth floor was kind and helpful. Overall, the stay was so nice that I hesitated to mention an issue I had. However, two months later, it still bothers me. When I stayed with my husband, the attitude of the lounge staff was so different. From the moment we arrived, they made it their business to know our (his!) name, and all were very solicitous. This year I was there for twice as long, and we felt invisible. Except for the original woman at the desk, no one ever recognized us. Every time we stopped in the lounge(several times a day) we were asked for our name and room number. One younger man (just the one) behind the desk was absolutely snotty to us, but generally I just felt invisible. I didn't appreciate it, and I would therefore not return in similar circumstances, nor would I recommend it to other women traveling alone. Old world service evidently comes with old world sexism.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#8 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.