We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World's Best Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CAD139 (CAD)
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“World's Best Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the moment our cab reached Old Quebec we felt like we entered an enchanted city and the castle hotel atop the hill, our home in Quebec, everything we could ever imagine. Pair that with excellent service and walking distance to World Heritage Sites, this vacation is a dream come true!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    173
    78
    42
    16
See reviews for
169
387
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Labrador City, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On a last minute decision, I decided to spend one more night in Quebec City on a trip and booked the last night at the Chateau. This is a very expensive hotel but is it ever beautiful. The grounds, rooms, beds, food, staff, view, and everything else; amazing! I could go on and on.

But I have to give a shout out to the two best bartenders in Quebec City, Henry and Louis. My buddy and I went and sat at the bar for a couple drinks. The boys were amazing. They could make anything. They were really busy but still gave friendly service and conversation to us and all the customers. Henry gave us the best restaurant recommendation in Saint-Amour. And when I returned to the bar with my wife over two weeks later, both guys remembered me by name and remembered what I drank the last time.

Beautiful hotel. I usually try and get nice places at reasonable prices, but it was an amazing experience to stay at such a nice place.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is facing the exterior, not the courtyard. There are amazing views of the St Law...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Chateau Frontenac to me is a great representation of Quebec City and it's history and charm. The rooms have been beautifully renovated while maintaining the hotels old world charm. The hotel itself exudes historic brilliance. The staff on the gold floor were exemplary and make it feel like your home away from home. The gold floor was one of the nicest I've seen with amazing food. I didn't need dinner after my selection of appetizers. Which was unfortunate as the restaurants in the hotel as well are amazing and have great ambience. If you are in Quebec City for business or pleasure, definitely worth the money. Can't wait go go back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Firstly the hotel itself is an icon of Quebec and truly lives up to it's reputation. We visited in November on the first snow day of the year, just a breath taking sight. The lobby was beautiful and tastefully decorated adding to our festive mini break. The usual attention to detail and service I've come to expect from the Fairmont chain was certainly present. The room was specious and in keeping with the history of the building as you'd expect of a Fairmont hotel. Only one disappointment, we booked a Christmas package through the website and were expecting Christmas decorations in our king suite as advertised. This didn't happen and in speaking to reception they weren't aware of any such promotion. They did send up a box of chocolates which was a nice touch. We ate in the hotel in the evening and we're very impressed with the newly refurbished "1608" cheese and wine bar. Our server was very helpful in pairing our favourite cheeses with a nice red. All cheese was fresh from Quebec and were just superb. The breakfast the next morning was also very special. One of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had. The salmon was a highlight (rivalled Salmon I've eaten in Alaska and Scotland) and our server was very attentive making us feel very special. I would advise the short wait for a window table, especially if there is snow. All in all a beautiful hotel matched with wonderful service and good quality produce. Our ideal weekend getaway.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent staff, resort and amenities with the prime location in Quebec City to boot. The quality of the brunch included with the room is unreal - we didn't eat lunch a majority of the days in the city. Rarely do I visit a hotel where the staff knows and calls you by name. Seriously high praises to this place. Will return again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I spent the weekend at the Frontenac. From the minute you walk through the doors the ambiance and elegance of the hotel wraps around you. The staff are friendly and very professional - the food while expensive is beautifully presented and prepared. It is the doorway to a fantastic city where unlike 20 years ago you can really make out in either of our wonderful official languages.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The magnificence of the actual historic building, coupled with its imposing situation on a precipice at the edge of the St. Lawrence River, right in the heart of old Quebec, would be enough to attract many visitors. However, once inside, the service from check in to cleaning staff, clinched the deal. This is a grand old hotel, so if you are needing large bathrooms and modern lobbies, this isn't your spot. If you want old world ambience and great service, this is the place. Our room overlooking the river was very comfortable. We ate at Sam's for 2 nights and had reasonable service and the food was good. You can't beat the location of this hotel for seeing Quebec City: all the major attractions are within walking distance, and the caleches are right outside the door! We would definitely stay here again. For a real experience, try the Fairmont Gold level: very attentive service, a magnificent expresso machine in your own lounge, and wonderful breakfast and hors d'oeuvres daily.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Rosemary T,
Thank you for this excellent feedback. We are so pleased you had such a wonderful stay and enjoyed the many amenities of the Château. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.