We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Iconic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here to end a fantastic tour of Montreal and Quebec area. Went for the extra perks of the Fairmont Gold floor. The lounge on the 14th floor was fantastic with a lovely simple breakfast, teas, coffees and soft drinks throughout the day, and snacks in the evening. (unfortunately had to pay for alcoholic drinks). Amazing views over the river and town from there. Room was great with a large comfortable bed, but main bathroom space was very limited due to the huge (wonderful) shower. Unfortunately leisure club was being refurbished, but pool was nice with a lovely outdoor terrace. perfect location and facilities. As expected valet parking was expensive, especially as didn't need to use the car all stay.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    142
    71
    40
    14
See reviews for
153
323
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is a mixed bag. We spent 4 days here with friends. Here is our collective assessment which may or may not be of use to fellow travelers.

Pluses: The location cannot be beat-it represents the heart of the old city. The valets and housekeeping staff are friendly and attentive. The room was incredibly quiet and nicely appointed.

Minuses: The concierge is clueless. It took us 3 attempts to reserve a walking tour and after being told we would have telephone messages confirming (we did not) we ended up back at the desk and were handed another guest's reservation for something else. It wasted our time and that of the hardworking staff. The lobby does not offer free Wi-Fi. We travel a lot and have not previously experienced this inconvenience. Even mid-range hotel chains offer guests and visitors this convenience. Free Wi-Fi is available in guest rooms only if one joins the Fairmont's loyalty program. One friend tried it but it did not work; he was quickly signed up at the front desk. Finally, though this is a huge hotel with many rooms there is a tiny bar. We attempted 3 days in a row to meet up for a drink. No space, no one on staff taking names, etc. It is a beautiful bar, and we would have enjoyed having a drink in it

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. What can I say I'm Canadian and I'm brought up to be positive and not to complain. However my positive comments end there. I feel people considering this hotel need to know the truth....it has 3 star service. I ordered room service three times, each time the order taker repeated flawlessly what I wanted yet each time I did not receive what I ordered. I have presidents club status and waited needlessly while the lone front desk agent chatted on the phone to her colleague. I was served Gluten after specifically letting them know about my allergy in both official languages. I was served cold pea soup by a server with her thumb in my bowl, because this supposed "five star" establishment hasn't realized that a cup of soup requires a saucer...every guest was served their soup like this, so unsanitary. This is the first hotel I've stayed at without 24 hour room service, keep this I'm mind if you are from another time zone. You can't even get a bottle of wine let alone a burger after 11pm. 5 star, not a chance...

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely...which makes the deplorable service such a waste of a beautiful structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and i love staying at this hotel. The first time we stayed here we got into the gold club by accident because someone else was in our room when we went to check it out. They made it right instantly and upgraded us. The bed was way more comfortable then a standard Fairmont bed. The club level was really great with outstanding views of the city. And the service was exceptional. Can't wait to go back soon.

Room Tip: Getting a room in the gold club is worth it at this property as you get half of the 14th floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Fairmont is outstanding in every area, and what a location. You can walk to everything in "old town", and the hotel staff will help with directing you to "can't miss things" in the area. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac is nicely done, it’s beautiful without being over the top. It’s in a very nice location in old town. The rooms were a little small but very comfortable, clean and nicely designed. I stayed at Le Chateau Frontenac for a weekend for the QC Marathon. The price I paid was a runner rate and I must say it was the cheapest part of the trip. Not sure if it’s all of Quebec or just Old Town but everything is very pricey. However, we enjoyed our time there very much. The hotel has a very nice bar. I would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Do not miss the opportunity to stay at t his great property. The location is ideal for visiting the immediate area and other areas of Quebec. I guess I will have to add more characters in order to meet the 200 minimum.


  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.