We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Castle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ballston Spa, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Castle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and i love staying at this hotel. The first time we stayed here we got into the gold club by accident because someone else was in our room when we went to check it out. They made it right instantly and upgraded us. The bed was way more comfortable then a standard Fairmont bed. The club level was really great with outstanding views of the city. And the service was exceptional. Can't wait to go back soon.

Room Tip: Getting a room in the gold club is worth it at this property as you get half of the 14th floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    142
    69
    40
    13
See reviews for
152
320
22
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Fairmont is outstanding in every area, and what a location. You can walk to everything in "old town", and the hotel staff will help with directing you to "can't miss things" in the area. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac is nicely done, it’s beautiful without being over the top. It’s in a very nice location in old town. The rooms were a little small but very comfortable, clean and nicely designed. I stayed at Le Chateau Frontenac for a weekend for the QC Marathon. The price I paid was a runner rate and I must say it was the cheapest part of the trip. Not sure if it’s all of Quebec or just Old Town but everything is very pricey. However, we enjoyed our time there very much. The hotel has a very nice bar. I would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Do not miss the opportunity to stay at t his great property. The location is ideal for visiting the immediate area and other areas of Quebec. I guess I will have to add more characters in order to meet the 200 minimum.


  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. Accommodations were great. Beautiful inside and out. Great location. Hotel staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfast buffet downstairs was out of this world. I am still thinking about the pancakes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I didn't do my homework prior to traveling to Quebec because I had business meetings already arranged at Le Chateau Fontenac. I didn't even look at the pictures of the hotel. I had no idea how fortunate I was this was the selected site of our meetings. I can't imagine experiencing Quebec from a different location. Please look at the pictures of the hotel, and then realize they simply don't do it justice. The architecture is simply amazing. I understand they recently did an $85Million dollar renovation to the property. The staff was amazing & knowledgable. The food & restaurants were excellent. The location can not be beat. French is the primary language, but there was never an issue speaking English.
Prior to arrival, I did a very quick search on here to look for the best room selection. I read through a few reviews on this site which said the river views were the best to get. I ended up with a room with a river view. I was not overly impressed with my view from 3229 at all. It is one very small window, and I think I would rather have viewed city versus river, but I don't have anything to compare it to. The rooms are very small which is a reflection of the era. Make sure you are ready for that.

Room Tip: As noted above, I had a river view which wasn't an impressive view. The window is very small pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Every detail, from arrival to departure was perfect. The check in was seamless, valet had bags in our room before we arrived. Perfect temperature room, graceful service arrived promptly each time we requested anything (dry-cleaning, extra pillows, room service). No empty trays in the hallways of this beautiful hotel.

The concierge recommended perfect dinner choices and facilitated our arrival and departures to each venue.

We will absolutely stay here again

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for exactly what you want and you will receive it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear J P,
What a delight to read your review. We are so thrilled you had such a wonderful stay. Thank you for taking time to share feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.