We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Every reason to stay again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect. Every reason to stay again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Every detail, from arrival to departure was perfect. The check in was seamless, valet had bags in our room before we arrived. Perfect temperature room, graceful service arrived promptly each time we requested anything (dry-cleaning, extra pillows, room service). No empty trays in the hallways of this beautiful hotel.

The concierge recommended perfect dinner choices and facilitated our arrival and departures to each venue.

We will absolutely stay here again

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for exactly what you want and you will receive it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    141
    69
    40
    13
See reviews for
151
315
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is beautiful inside and out. The staff made our stay delightful, from the reservations agent, through everyone we interacted with. Although the primary language was French everyone switched to English when we requested..

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our first time in Quebec City and hopefully not our last. The city itself is chopped full of European charm. Walking the streets it really does feel like being in Europe rather than Canada. We seemed to spend countless hours simply wandering the streets taking pictures and enjoying the atmosphere. Its really like going to Europe without the hassle of the long flight!

The Frontenac itself lived up to the hype. Its a historic property that could not be more centrally located. The exterior itself is sublime. You will find yourself taking pictures of the dominant structure over and over and over again from every possible angle. We were so pleased with the location. We could quickly exit the hotel and be right on the boardwalk/promenade to wander through the crowds and take in the breathtaking scenery. There are entertainers just outside the hotel each evening and you are minutes from a variety of restaurants and shopping.

We were upgraded to a suite so cannot comment on other room types, but our room (albeit in the back of the hotel and not much of a view) was warm, spacious and inviting. We had a large living room area as well as a separate bedroom. Plenty of space for the two of us.

We ate breakfast at the restaurant each morning and the selections were abundant. They offer al a cart or a buffet (which most people choose). The choices were vast and those we tried were delicious. We even ordered egg white omelets which weren't available at the buffet but were delivered to us quickly. Luckily for us we used Fairmont certificates, otherwise it can be rather costly.

A few things that we would highly recommend:

Wine/Water/Snacks - leave the hotel and make a left and head down Rue de Jardins to Epicerie Richard. Its super close to the hotel and you can grab some water, wine, snacks for the room! Nice grabbing a couple bottles of wine to enjoy each evening that dont break your bank!

Exercise. When we were staying at the hotel the gym was temporarily moved to a standard hotel room. However if you are looking for a glorious run/jog head to the concierge and ask for a running map. The run will take you out of the hotel and up some stairs to the Plains of Abraham. You run through a historic battlefield and can loop back through the upper city to finish. It was a lovely run.

Take a drive. We headed up the coast on several occasions and visited the small towns and villages that hugged the St Lawrence. Each has their own charm. We ended at the Fairmont le Manoir Richelieu in Charlevoix. The entire area was spectacular. If you play golf its a must visit!

I can safely say there is a reason this property is so highly recommended. The staff are helpful and friendly in spite of the hotel being slammed with a plethora of guests and visitors at all hours. Its the perfect vacation destination and an absolutely charming hotel. The city itself was truly amazing. Its one of those places everyone must experience.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this property for one night before joining a cruise on the Crystal Serenity. I understand why Crystal does not use this hotel for its pre- or post- cruise excursions. There were so many glitches in the way we were handled that it became laughable. I had booked 2 rooms through the American Express Platinum program. One was a regular room and the other an upgraded room on the Gold level. The regular room was ready when we arrived at about 2 p.m, but the Gold level room was not. My sister-in-law checked into her room and we left our carry-on bags there and decided to go out for lunch. I gave them my cell phone number to let me know when the other room was ready. I got the call while we were having lunch and we went back to the hotel less than 1/2 an hour later only to find out that our room had been given to someone else! We were offered another room with 2 beds, which I refused since I had reserved a King-bedded room. They then "found" another room for us, although on a lower floor than the original room. I went up to that room and it had not been cleaned from the previous guest! it was a total mess. I went back to Reception and they finally found us a room on the 17th floor which had obviously been previously assigned to someone else, because there was a note in that room welcoming someone with a different name. I can only imagine what that person went through at check-in. The room itself was quite nice although the bathroom was really tiny with very little shelf or storage space. We did have a lovely river view and could see our ship docked at the foot of town. Since we had a $100 per room AmEx credit, we decided to have dinner in the hotel. We could not get reservations in their fine dining restaurant, but did get a reservation in the more casual restaurant. Even with a reservation, we waited over 30 minutes to be seated. The menu was rather strange and several items were not available because the new Fall menu was going to be previewed a few days later. We ended up spending more than our $200 credit for what I consider a subpar meal. We did have a lovely waiter who was helpful and gracious. The next morning we went for breakfast at about 9 a.m. and were told there would be at least a 45 minute wait. I was really furious, as I could see that there were lots of empty tables available. I went to speak to the concierge who called the hostess of the restaurant and explained to her (in French, which I speak) that we were on the AmEx Platinum plan and that our opinion was very important. Shouldn't every guest's opinion count? We were suddenly told that we could be seated in 10 minutes!! During breakfast, a very charming manager came over to talk to us about our experience. He was extremely apologetic and agreed that none of these things should have happened. He offered to make it up to us in some way, but we were leaving shortly to board our ship.
I think the main problem with this hotel is that it caters to very large tour groups and the individual guest gets lost in the shuffle. While we were there, we saw many large groups from all over the world and I assume that the hotel is simply not able to deal with so many people arriving and departing at the same time. The Fairmont group needs to get its' act together. It is a very large hotel and management needs to be sure that the service it offers meets the needs of all its' guests.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the Gold level- an oasis of calm in an otherwise frantic environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Checking out tomorrow and hate to leave! The hotel is a magnificant castle on the hill. No other hotel in Quebec can compare in beauty. I am staying on the gold level and I think it is definitely worth it! The main lobby can be quite crowded and the conceirge level gives you a serene atmosphere to check in; eat breakfast and have evening appetizers and cocktails before dinner. The staff is very helpful and friendly. I used the spa and had an excellent massage and so did my husband! We were upgraded to a suite and have a great view of the river because I am celebrating a big birthday. I have had a wonderful trip to Quebec and love the hotel. I have felt pampered in a very luxurious hotel. Thank you to all at the Frontenac!

Room Tip: 1705 is a suite with a river view! Gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First time in Quebec City, decided to stay at this historic hotel. Overall very good, apparently had recent renovation. Large room with river view, nice bathroom. But room did not have enough lighting, nor enough electric outlets. Concierge very helpful when someone is there, but they are not there early morning or after about 9pm, which seemed odd for a large hotel. Room rate included breakfast buffet, which was very nice. Ask to be seated near the window instead of the interior/upper level, which is dark and cramped. Glad we had the Chateau experience, but next time might try somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Everything about this stay was top notch, from the room to the service to the SAM bar.

We had a spacious room on the 7th floor with views of the river. Both the room and the bathroom were spotless clean and well furnished; comfortable bed and even a rain shower!

The bar staff were great fun, attentive and very accommodating; especially Louis, Jean-Felix and Jonathan.

The hotel is a bit worn, but that only succeeds in showcasing its character.

My only complaint (and it's a big one for me!) is that the hotel allows guests to smoke immediately outside the only entrance to the lobby. It really bothers me to have to pass through a disgusting cloud of smoke every time I enter or leave the bldg. Please go smoke across the courtyard!!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.