We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont shower” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Penfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dont shower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Le Chateau Fontenac is a beautiful property and truly majestic. Hotel staff are friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and well appointed. However when showering with soap in my eyes the water completely stopped running for several minutes. I managed to wipe off and called the front desk. Someone came up right away but the water came back on before they got there! Everything was deemed ok and off they went. My wife then got in the shower and once again the water stopped! I felt like we were in a Three Stooges show.
Otherwise we had a wonderful stay. They need to fix the water problem

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    118
    60
    35
    10
See reviews for
141
257
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We just finished 3 days in Quebec City and enjoyed one of the worlds great cities..walking the streets of Old Quebec..the murals..the Citadel were so unique...staying in the Fairmont La Chateau Frontenac on the 17th floor with the view of the the St Lawrence River made the visit that much more unique...the folks at the hotel were so helpful...had to mail a package...done...room was not ready when we got their at 9am...understandable..so they helped us get ready for seeing the city..stored our luggage..sent us on our way ...called when the rooms were ready around 3pm...were able to get an upgrade to the 17th floor...so nice...hope to go back some day...plan to stay in Fairmont's when we can..checking into the Washington,DC for 4 nights next week...we'll see if they meet out expectations

Room Tip: Get a river view room of the St Lawrence River
See more room tips
Green Features: sure they have a plan..towels,linen usage,light bulbs high efficient bulbs,,many other
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am consistently disappointed by Fairmont Hotels. They simply do not deliver the goods. Over priced, old rooms with average decor. Our view from the window was a torn tarp and plywood (construction zone) and the room itself was as big as a shoe box. The "view" really put me over the edge and I asked for another room. Bellman didn't deliver our luggage for over 1 1/2 hours and that was only because we called to remind them.Their locations are fantastic and buildings grand, but inside the experience is average. The conference food we had at the Frontenac was dreadful. I have never seen people turn away the servers at a cocktail reception because the food was that unappealing. Other conference meals were just average--nothing to remember. I will not return to this property.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent stay in a good location. Friendly helpful staff and good facilities. The Loyalty program needs work - it resets each year regardless of number of stays. Although expensive the food is very good and the business facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste-maxime, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The stay was 5 Star Do try this hotel a must !!!!! The food was fantastic,the rooms were beautifull with great views and the staff were brilliant.This has to be the number one place to stay in Québec City !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is spectacular in its setting, and Quebec city is delightful to poke around, but for a four or five star hotel the front desk staff need to lift their game. Join the President's Club online before checking in - get free wifi instead of paying $15/day.

We arrived for three days at 3:30pm to be told our room wasn't ready. Could we go for a walk for 15 minutes? So we did, returning after half an hour. The room still wasn't ready. Would we like a free drink in the bar and they would call us when the room was ready? We went to the bar. The bartender told us the "free" drink tickets wouldn't cover the costs. The waiter managed to kindly overlook this, at least. We returned to the front desk at 5pm, having still not been contacted. The room had been ready for a while, but they had forgotten to contact us. We felt very valued.

The room was very elegant and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable, the views are spectacular. Unusual, again, for a four or five star hotel to not provide bathrobes.

Two days later, when it was raining, we waited ten minutes in the line of three at the Concierge's desk. When it was our turn, all we needed was one umbrella. The Concierge's response was that she was very busy, that fetching one from the room behind her would be time-consuming when she had others to attend to (there was only one other at that point, and he had only just joined the line) and could we ask at the bell desk instead (she had just fetched four umbrellas for two large women that had occupied her for 5-7 minutes)? When I told her that we were merely asking her to do her job, her tone changed, she became profusely apologetic and did bring us one.

On checking out, waiting in the President's Club line didn't accelerate a very slow process as the front desk staff engaged in lengthy chitchat and banter with other guests checking out, despite 8-10 people being in line for the 2 staff serving. The valet parking staff were exceptional, though, with our car having been brought up on the morning of departure before we even requested it, and two bottles of water having been kindly placed in it for us.

Frankly, the general level of service was not up to an appropriate standard for a hotel or a hotel chain of the standard of the Fairmont group. The valet staff and the building itself saved the otherwise frustrating experience. Would we return? Yes, but with limited expectations and being prepared to reprimand staff much more quickly than we would normally. For the tariff charged, the service ethic needs considerable improvement. Being cute and smiling at the front desk is well and good, but the service needs to match.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have spectacular views. Joining the President's Club online provides free wifi inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent in every respect. Shopping, food, atmosphere surrounds the hotel. Everything is within walking distance. Don't miss bas-ville...take the funicular located just outside the hotel. Cycling Grand Prix goes right by the front door!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#12 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.