We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel poor loyalty program” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Westminster
1 review
“Great Hotel poor loyalty program”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent stay in a good location. Friendly helpful staff and good facilities. The Loyalty program needs work - it resets each year regardless of number of stays. Although expensive the food is very good and the business facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    116
    58
    35
    9
See reviews for
140
254
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ste-maxime, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The stay was 5 Star Do try this hotel a must !!!!! The food was fantastic,the rooms were beautifull with great views and the staff were brilliant.This has to be the number one place to stay in Québec City !!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is spectacular in its setting, and Quebec city is delightful to poke around, but for a four or five star hotel the front desk staff need to lift their game. Join the President's Club online before checking in - get free wifi instead of paying $15/day.

We arrived for three days at 3:30pm to be told our room wasn't ready. Could we go for a walk for 15 minutes? So we did, returning after half an hour. The room still wasn't ready. Would we like a free drink in the bar and they would call us when the room was ready? We went to the bar. The bartender told us the "free" drink tickets wouldn't cover the costs. The waiter managed to kindly overlook this, at least. We returned to the front desk at 5pm, having still not been contacted. The room had been ready for a while, but they had forgotten to contact us. We felt very valued.

The room was very elegant and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable, the views are spectacular. Unusual, again, for a four or five star hotel to not provide bathrobes.

Two days later, when it was raining, we waited ten minutes in the line of three at the Concierge's desk. When it was our turn, all we needed was one umbrella. The Concierge's response was that she was very busy, that fetching one from the room behind her would be time-consuming when she had others to attend to (there was only one other at that point, and he had only just joined the line) and could we ask at the bell desk instead (she had just fetched four umbrellas for two large women that had occupied her for 5-7 minutes)? When I told her that we were merely asking her to do her job, her tone changed, she became profusely apologetic and did bring us one.

On checking out, waiting in the President's Club line didn't accelerate a very slow process as the front desk staff engaged in lengthy chitchat and banter with other guests checking out, despite 8-10 people being in line for the 2 staff serving. The valet parking staff were exceptional, though, with our car having been brought up on the morning of departure before we even requested it, and two bottles of water having been kindly placed in it for us.

Frankly, the general level of service was not up to an appropriate standard for a hotel or a hotel chain of the standard of the Fairmont group. The valet staff and the building itself saved the otherwise frustrating experience. Would we return? Yes, but with limited expectations and being prepared to reprimand staff much more quickly than we would normally. For the tariff charged, the service ethic needs considerable improvement. Being cute and smiling at the front desk is well and good, but the service needs to match.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have spectacular views. Joining the President's Club online provides free wifi inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent in every respect. Shopping, food, atmosphere surrounds the hotel. Everything is within walking distance. Don't miss bas-ville...take the funicular located just outside the hotel. Cycling Grand Prix goes right by the front door!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

An excellent hotel with all the charm of Old Europe but with the necessary modern features to accommodate any traveler.

Central to Old Quebec makes the travelers experience even more enjoyable! Easy walking distance to shops, cafes and restuaraunts.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed in this hotel previously and loved the location. There was a group of us and though the rooms given to us this time had no views, the staff honesty is a point I like to mention. A group member lost her Iphone in the wash room. After a few hours of frantic search, I called the lost Iphone number and a female staff at the restaurant who found the Iphone, and handed the phone to a male colleague answered the call and promptly asked us to meet him at the restaurant, close to the washroom, to collect the phone. Obviously this made her day and left her with great memories of Quebec and Canada.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Steven881,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing this great staff story regarding the lost & found Iphone. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Inspiring piece of history, breathtaking views, gothic architecture, romantic scenery, excellent location, a palace.
A must stay if visiting Quebec.
Formidable customer service.

Room Tip: Inside towers and the ones with water view are quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: Many tourist attractions around it, restaurants, shopping, museums.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear RAlbaY,
Thank you for this fantastic review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in near future.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#22 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.