We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just suburb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just suburb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Amazing hotel, when you get into the old village you see the hotel from anywhere! It really is the place to be! The rooms are very nice with a modern design and good size! Bathrooms are a bit small but have all you need. The public areas are so beautiful. Had dinner one night at Bistro Le Sam. Interesting menu and great food! Will sure be back soon! Absolutely fell in love with the hotel and the city!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    78
    40
    28
    6
See reviews for
110
167
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I can't say enough about our visit. We had a tower room with a panoramic view of the St. Lawrence River. It was spacious and comfortable. We felt pampered from all the staff. One of the bell men gave us an excellent dinner suggestion and made the reservation for us. Our hotel couldn't have been in a better location. While pricey it was worth every penny spent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in one of the newly renovated suites at the Chateau and it was beautiful. We had a river view which was perfect for the fireworks shows that were taking place. The room had a separate sitting area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

No visit to Quebec City is complete without staying or visiting the Chateau Frontenac. It is a national treasure, luxurious, well maintained and good customer service. We have been many times over the years to the New Years Eve and Day celebrations and it is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is a bit run down and needs refurbishing. Too many guests and too few staff members to look after the guests. Both check in and check out take far too long. The rooms are large and clean but the overall experience was not very satisfying.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Parul G,
Thank you for taking time to post feedback. As the hotel just recently completed a major renovation of guestrooms, public areas and restaurants, I was surprised to read your feedback regarding our refurbishment. As we work to constantly improve our service and amenities, we would love to hear more information regarding your experience so we can better understand your disappointment. Please feel free to contact me at genevieve.parent@fairmont.com.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Looking at the Chateau Frontenac from any angle, it's simply majestic. The location is superb. The boardwalk is right at its door step. The St Laurence river is in front of it. It's in the Quebec City old town. There are shops, restaurants etc nearby. Very charming. Inside the hotel, the decor is luxurious and old-world.

Keep in mind, about half of the rooms will be facing inside. For the rooms that are facing outside, more than half have a river view, the rest have a city view.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear collector_hunter,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for taking time to post with us. We are delighted you had such a great stay and hope you will visit again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Our stay at the Fairmont started off at the wrong foot. We arrived in the am, our room was not ready and we were offered a readily available room on the 3rd floor. The concierge mentioned that the room is very large and that this section of the hotel is being renovated. However, since it's Friday, we won't be affected by the noise, only by the scaffoldings which would obscure an otherwise court view (which simply means/ no view). Luckily we decided to look at the room before committing to it. The room was indeed large, but quite ugly to be frank. It was outdated and seemed very bare. The best was yet to come--- the massive windows scaffolding not only blocked the view but there were a bunch of construction workers facing right into the room!!! It was so noisy that we initially thought that someone was banging from the inside of the bathroom. Off course we declined the room. This time around we were lucky to be helped by a gracious, attentive and very diligent concierge, Maha (I hope that the spelling of her name is accurate). It took a little while but after listening carefully to our complains, she found an amazing room in the newly renovated section of the hotel. It was beautifully done, good size, with meticulous attention to details and a true sense of luxury. We paid an extra $20 for the upgrade but it was well
worth the departure from the bare and depressing, let alone the potential disastrous construction situation. If decor matters to you book an advance a room in the newly renovated section of the hotel and inquire specifically about size.
The service in the hotel is consistently outstanding. The location is central, minutes walk to main attractions, restaurants and the beautiful board walk.
Staying in a castle is quite charming and gives an added flavor to the historical and architectural significant a of Quebec. Get a free membership to the presidential fairmont club and you will have a free wifi access. However, won't help you with an upgrade if the room if fully booked.
It's an expensive hotel, but here you do get what you pay for- impressive landmark hotel, elegant, unique decor, superb service (great dining recommendations, umbrellas on an unexpected rainy day), attention to details, prime location, and comfort. To me that's what's a good hotel stay is all about. I want to thank again the impressive service of Maha,
the outstanding concierge.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Funnfun,
We are so thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay and that we were able to find the perfect accommodations for you. Given our unique architecture, our rooms do come in many variations for size, view and architectural details. Thank you for taking time to share feedback and we hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#16 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.