We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when visiting Quebec” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must when visiting Quebec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've been wrestling with describing our visit and stay at the Frontenac--the superlatives I could use seem over the top, trite, and overused, but yet entirely appropriate. The place is simply fabulous. During their recent renovations they've managed to restore the old world glamour with very appealing freshness. Woods were deeply polished, white trim sparkled, the walls painted a soft french blue/grey, the furniture in the rooms very, very comfortable--they pulled off one of the most spectacular renovations without gutting the historic personality of the structure.

About the rooms--again perfect. We are a family of 4 with two teens and were able to reserve a two room suite with 2 queens and pull out couch--perfect. The bathroom was a bit tight, but that's how bathrooms were made when this hotel was built. The bathroom was beautiful in marble, white, and chrome. Suites overlook the city, not the seaway view we had hoped. Instead our view was the Laurentian mountains crowning the city--equally lovely. It would have been nicer if the window was larger, but again, that's how the hotel was built a the turn of the century. The view from the other room was a wall and turret, but that didn't phase us.

Housekeeping was excellent, the rooms quiet, and beds comfortable.

Would highly recommend. Pricing was actually reasonable compared to the size of the room and our other options in old Quebec since we were traveling as a family. Other good quality hotels in the Old City only allow 2 per room, so we would have had two reserved 2 rooms per each night.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    42
    22
    15
    2
See reviews for
46
100
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently spent several nights here--business and pleasure mix. This is a first class hotel with excellent service, staff, and amenities. The facility is historic and recently renovated--I'd have to say second to none. I think it's the perfect place to practice your French, because, when you get lost they're more than willing to switch over to almost perfect English. Surrounded by a very European inspired, old world city. Clean, too!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had the pleasure to stay there for 1 night. The location is perfect, close to the old town, river side , everything. Room and bathroom were renovated. Average sized but with a large cozy bed. Nice staff and excellent service at the bar. would stay there again !

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff and décor of the hotel are wonderful. This was the best hotel stay I've ever had by far. The food at breakfast and dinner was fantastic. The concierge and wait staff were just fantastic. Some rooms can be small and you pay for the experience, but it is worth it. It was hard to stay at other hotels after staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My now husband and I recently got married in Québec City and had the honor of staying here. We had many of our wedding photos taken in the hotel and around the property. This wasn't our first time at a Fairmont, and we received the same level of personalized service and care that we received at other Fairmont resorts. The staff at the Chateau truly made our wedding day experience and stay both wonderful and memorable. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel stay was a highlight of my traveling career. It is fabulous is every way. Expensive yes, but worth it. Right in the middle of Quebec City. Walk to everything. We had a room upgrade and stayed in a Tourette!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Lake
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Frontenac is like staying at Disney world, high prices, but a lot of families on vacation. We spent over $900 for a 2 night stay in a room with a view of a brick wall in an alley; also, they won't let you take drinks out of the bar.
In general we felt like the entire "Old Town of Quebec City" would have been better served it is presented itself in a "Colonial Williamsburg" manner. The entire old town area is nothing but tourists and tourist traps, including this hotel; however, this is not what they make themselves out to be. At least in a place like Colonial Williamsburg or Disney you know it's been designed for tourists. The ratio of touristy stuff to actual history wasn't to our liking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Romantic, Suite...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
Romantic, Bouti...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Germain-Dominion
Hotel Le Germain-Dominion
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Suites, Quiet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.