We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signature hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jetsetter.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Signature hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful signature hotel in a classic setting overlooking the St. Lawrence in the historic part of Quebec City. Old-style elegance and comfort - not trendy but classic elegance. We had a quiet room in the Fairmont Gold section - worth the price we paid - great continental breakfast in Fairmont Gold lounge. Nice elegant (but not stuffy) bar overlooking the river. Visited during Winter Carnival- fun to be in a city that celebrates winter - even in very cold weather!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Paula D,
Thank you for posting a review your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience. Winter Carnival is indeed a great time of year to visit! We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,147
    551
    220
    73
    31
See reviews for
514
904
65
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If I could have given 3.5/5 I would have. This property, with all it's history is worth a stay just for that reason alone.

The rooms are nice & clean. Bed was very comfortable. The bathrooms show the oldness of the building ; they are tiny and you have essentially no room to place your toiletries. Its all OK, but nothing overly spectacular or anything to justify the somewhat expensive price tag of a stay here.

Parking was a ridiculous 32$/night. I would expect that in Manhattan, but not Quebec City. There is not much public & overnight parking in the area so I guess they are taking advantage of that.

All-in-all, this property is nice and I am glad I stayed here. There is nothing "wrong" with the Chateau Frontenac ; perhaps my expectations were set a bit high?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Roombaguy,
Thank you for taking time to post a review. We appreciate the feedback provided as it helps us improve the service and amenities we provide. We were disapointed to read that your experience was not fully up to your expectations. We will be renovating our product this year which will certainly address many of your comments. We hope you visit us again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed at this Fairmont hotel for one night during my trip to Quebec. It is a very nice hotel, it looks very impressive, from the inside as from the outside. It is a very big hotel but it is full of charm!
The room was located on the 15th floor, it was very nice, spacious with a nice view (small windows though). Very comfy bed. The bathroom however did not correspond to a 5 * standard…it is small, there’s only a tiny lillte bath tube with a shower, there is no space at all, even no place to put you toiletries…it does not go with the entire room and hotel, it’s more a 3*bath room in a 5* hotel…
Breakfast was ok, however I was missing some more international breakfast selection for example some ham or cheese instead of only bacon and eggs. Lovely selection of fresh fruit and pasteries though!
The only really annoying thing in this hotel are the huge groups of tourists in my case a huge group of older americans coming back from skiing who were incredibly lound and sort of ruined the hotel’s charm. Unfortunetaly they were almost everywhere you went. It felt like Disneyland somehow.
Downstairs on the terrace level there is a Starbucks (cheesy but also sort of cool).
Overall it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very nice hotel and friendly staff. This is one of the quietest hotels I have stayed at. The bed was comfortable but the rooms were not as clean as other Fairmont hotels I have stayed at.

Lots of great shopping and restaurants within walking distance, just remember you are walking down hill to most places so it can be a tough walk back, especially if the sidewalks have ice on them.

It is a big hotel so it can also be a long walk from the elevators to your room.

Room Tip: It can be a long, long walk from the elevator to your room. I would not ask for a room that is far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at this beautiful Fairmont and enjoyed every minute of it. We felt like royalty when we checked in the special desk for Fairmont President Club members. It was super fast and we had no problems connecting to the internet for free with our free FPC membership number. The hotel is going through some GRAND renos this year, can't wait to go back. The pool is so bright, spacious and a lovely view of the Old Quebec architecture as you relax in the hot tub. Especially enjoyed the change rooms with the eucalyptus steam room, even has a bathing-suit dryer and everything you need is in there. The breakfast buffet at Le Cafe de la Terrasse was worth every penny and we had it every day of our stay. It was like having Sunday brunch every day. We were set until dinner so it was worth it. We loved having drinks at the Bar St-Laurent, the dark wood panelling created a pleasant comfy mood and the fire roaring was great to add to the ambience of a bygone era. The kids loved seeing Santol the mascot, he was so cute. Next time I would definitely stay in Fairmont Gold or go for one of the Deluxe Riverview rooms because the lighting in the city at night even on the river is fantastic. There is a special activity sheet they give for the kids to colour and find the answers to so they get a prize. Great, attentive personalized service, second to none!

Room Tip: Go for Fairmont Gold if its available or one of the Signature rooms, they are the best! Make sure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear dancinghorse,
What a pleasure to read your review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your family vacation at the Château Frontenac and will be sharing your great feedback with all of our teams. Thank you for taking time to post a review and we cannot wait to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Decadent, classy and stunning....We brought our daughters for the weekend stay at one of Canada's most prestegious hotels. Fairmont's Le Chateau Frontenac will not disappoint you, it is hotel that is even more beautiful at night than it is in the day. All lit up, it so awe inspiring and very romantic. We loved that it has a Starbucks in the stores on ground level, we loved our view of the river and our room felt like that is where Winston Churchill would have stayed. It's not the cheapest, but worth every penny for the location and experience....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Brawnetml,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your family getaway. We are thrilled that your daughters enjoyed their experience! We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Chateau Frontenac is still a great place to stay in Quebec City. The lobby is beautiful, the restaurant and bar have great views, and the location is great. Also, you're staying on the hotel everyone goes to visit, so that's a plus.

It's true that the rooms feel a bit outdated, but nothing that bothered me. They are very spacious and comfortable, and sleep quality was good (no noise issues). Wi-fi signal strength in the room was decent, but the coffee maker didn't work very well.

The pool was very nice: large enough not to feel crowded, the service was attentive, and they offer fruit and water. Too bad that there's no outside pool like in other Fairmonts, that would have been great.

Service at the reception and concierge desks were professional and courteous, and the same can be said about the bar. Unfortunately the very enjoyable hotel tour that was once offered has been cancelled for some time. It's still worth it to explore the hotel on your own a bit, although not quite the same as with a guide.

My only real complaint is the service from the valet/bellman, who tried to bully us into parking the car with them, at very expensive rates. Once I told him that I would only get the luggage out of the car and check-in, he gave me a lot of attitude and told me to move my car as soon as I checked-in, and that it was necessary keep my keys just in case. There were no other guests or cars there at that moment, mind you. Anyway, I unloaded my bags and parked the car one block away, for less that half the price.

Fortunately, after the bad first impression, we had a great stay at the Chateau and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genevieve_Parent, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear AstroJunq,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Château Frontenac. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall experience. In regards to your comments about our door/valet service, proper follow-ups will be done to ensure such events do not happen again as it is certainly not the type of service we strive to offer. We hope you visit us again on your next trip to Quebec City.
Sincerely,
Genevieve Parent
PR Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Also Known As:
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Hotel
Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Hotel Quebec City
Fairmont Quebec City
Chateau Frontenac Quebec City
Quebec City Fairmont
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Quebec/Quebec City
Address: 1 Rue des Carrieres, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing high on a bluff overlooking the mighty St. Lawrence River, Fairmont Le Château Frontenac is not merely a hotel located in the heart of Old Québec - it is the heart of it. At Fairmont Le Château Frontenac, guests are guaranteed a memorable and inspiring stay in one of the most beautiful cities in the world with easy walking access to all of the wonderful sites and experiences that Old Québec has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Amex, Venere, Otel, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac to your Saves list