We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk in the park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montmorency Falls Park

Montmorency Falls Park
5300 Boulevard Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1C 0M3, Canada
418-663-3330
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Montmorency Falls Park like an insider
Top Rated
$93*
and up
Quebec City and Montmorency Falls Day Trip from...
Ranked #7 of 220 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: These 275-foot falls on the Montmorency River tower higher than even the legendary Niagara Falls.The 2013 season promises to be exhilarating for people who will visit Parc de la Chute-Montmorency – Montmorency Falls, the second most visited site of the provincial capital after Old Quebec. The highlight of all the new summer activities is certainly the opening of two via ferrata routes built in the Boischatel fault near the waterfalls. Via ferrata – this is italien for “iron roads”, is an activity accessible to everyone over 12 years old that combines hiking and rock climbing. The two paths are built on the rockface on the eastern side of the waterfall. The less adventurous will also be able to get stunning views of the 83-meter high waterfall aboard the cable car which now runs with sparkling new cabins. History buffs will be glad to know that guided tours are now offered each weekend in the company of Sir Frederick Haldimand, who served as Governor of Quebec from 1778 to 1786 and Mathilde Robin, best known as the Lady in White, who lost her fiancé during the Montmorency Battle in 1759. Guided tours are offered in French or English until Labour Day weekend.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great walk in the park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The park is beautiful, of course the falls are impressive, the restaurant is a bit expensive but you can get special menu at a good price. The menu is good, you have a very good wine selection too. The food is excellent and service too. For a romantic or with a group you can have a great time. During winter you can sit on the terrasse with a fireplace, it is fun! Don't miss that place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,145
    805
    210
    27
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“must-see in winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were in Quebec for five days, and had the extra bit of time to go out to the falls. It was very easy to get to the park, we just took the 800 bus from the city centre ($3 cash each way, about 40 minute ride) towards Beaupre and the bus lets you off right at the top of the falls.

The falls were half frozen, with ice cold green water rushing out from underneath the frozen top layer and over fungus-like growths of ice, swirling around in black pools, then spraying over the edge only to disappear at the bottom under snow banks.

We walked over the bridge, through the little wooded area and around to the lookout across from the falls for an even more spectacular view. There is a set of stairs leading down that we did not attempt in the snow, but would definitely go down in warmer weather. For only the cost of bus fare, this was a highlight attraction on our trip to Quebec City.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A great place to visit/ a must-see when in Quebec.
There is a fantastic walk up [don't ask me how many steps!!] to the very top of the falls and then a bridge across the falls - fantastic view. I was there on quite a hot day of summer but there was still a great amount of water coming down the falls.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and a nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband, 9 year old son and I enjoyed taking the cable car up to the top of the falls today. It cost a little more than $24 for all three of us to take the cable car up and back. One tip if you want to save money: you can spare yourself the $7 parking fee by parking your car on the side street that is parallel to the drive that goes into the park then walking over to the cable car (about a 5-10 minute walk). The cable cars run whenever people need a ride and offer great views. It takes about 5 minutes or so to go up to the top. The walk to the first bridge overlooking the falls is about 10 minutes and has great views. Then there's another small bridge about 5 minutes further up the trail, also with good views. You can't see the falls much from the top since the bridges are directly over the falls, but there is a lower viewing stand (-- looks like a little gazebo off to the lower left of the falls). Be careful though in winter because the steps leading down to that viewing area are slippery if you don't have good treads on your boots (.. unfortunately, my boots had no treads). I actually slipped and fell down 10 steps or so-- no injuries but probably a few bruises. What I discovered though was that there is a walkway that comes from the right front of the restaurant building that leads to that view stand, so you don't need to climb down those stairs if you would rather not.

For the cable car, you can get round trip tickets or one way (then walk down the steps to the right of the falls.)

There's a nice gift shop in the restaurant at the top with nice t-shirts, tree ornaments, and other knicknacks. The restaurant is a comfortable, cozy place for a cup of hot chocolate and coffee. We were there in the late afternoon and the kitchen was closed so they were no longer serving food.

All in all, we had a nice afternoon and enjoyed being in nature, seeing great views and my son had his first cable car ride. It was worth the price for the nice memory.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We can only imagine what the falls look like in the summer but in the winter it is amazing! The snow and ice views are amazing! To see the powerful rush of water mixed with snow was spectacular! Unbelievable! Our taxi driver took us to the top of the fall where we could walk over the top without having to pay the park entrance. This was an excellent tip!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montmorency Falls Park also viewed

 

Been to Montmorency Falls Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montmorency Falls Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.