We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my style, but OK place for economy budgets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le 727 Petit Hotel

Le 727 Petit Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le 727 Petit Hotel
727, rue d'Aiguillon, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1M8, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 126 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not my style, but OK place for economy budgets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

After spending two decadent nights and pampered, catered breakfasts at the beautiful Absolument B&B in Montreal, our 1-night stay at Le 727 was a bit of a let down. But relative comparison aside, 727 was fine for what it is. We had a clean though sparsely decorated room. No private shower, (shared on the floor), but it wasn't a problem.

The location is good, though the street it's on leaves something to be desired in terms of aesthetic appeal. No worries, though -- it was safe and quiet, and just a block over from the shops, restaurants, boutiques, clubs, and even a gay bar. Very convenient for walking to Old Quebec and through the rest of the town.

Morning breakfast was no great shakes. Continental style, nothing home-cooked, sadly. Limited seating, too, at the one table. One of the guests almost didn't have a seat until one of the others opted to leave.

Although the place has wireless internet, we couldn't get a connection because "the technician" wasn't around to give us a password. That makes no sense to me, since wireless access seems pretty straightforward to me. But whatever.

I would not stay here again if I were ever to visit Quebec. I'd pay a little extra to get something nicer. But if you are on a tight budget, you might consider this (our room was $125 for the night). If money is really an issue, be smarter and go really cheap and skip the B&B idea. Otherwise, upgrade to something better by paying a little more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The World - But based in US
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

While there is something to like at Le 727, this can't be the same place that others have described in glowing terms. Some of the best elements of the former B&B must be gone, most likely with the people who used to run it.

Most B&B's are run by people who enjoy visitors, or at least make it seem so. The hostess offered us little to no congenial hospitality. The overall effect was somewhere between brusque and rude. The makings of a nice place to stay are there, but Le 727 misses the mark.

There is an attractive patio and living room. Unfortunately they are out of bounds to guests. You may sit in the living room during breakfast only. Before and after breakfast, these areas are locked away from general use.

The permitted common areas are limited to the kitchen-like room in the space between the guest rooms on the second and third floors. There is a table with uncomfortable chairs. It’s not bad, but small and sterile. Not cozy at all or home-like. There are some kitchen appliances for guest use. The refrigerator is handy for storing any items you want to keep cool, or for supplementing the very sparse breakfast.

Not all of the 9 units have private bathrooms. The shared bathrooms on the second and third floors are small and have little provision for placing toiletries, etc. Some rooms have varying toilet and sink provision or full bathrooms. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner since such fundamental niceties are missing from this B&B. Soap is provided, but it a small chip more typical of the cheapest motel. The layout means that, if you share a bathroom, you have to walk through the kitchen to get to the toilet.

There are nice balconies on the 2nd & 3rd floors that overlooks the attractive off-limits courtyard. The chairs are cheap but comfortable. However, cigarette smoke from the other balcony sometimes fouls the air and the next-door bar is noisy.

Breakfasts are limited to your choice of dull cold cereal and average bread. There is a wide variety of toppings for your bread/toast. Coffee is good and rich, plus there are several varieties of tea. There are sometimes fresh fruits offered, which brighten the otherwise dull breakfast. It's better than "Continental", but not by much. To get yogurt, good cheeses and breads/pastries, we used a nearby grocery & an epicerie.

The only offer for variety from the kitchen was whether you wanted some juice with your meal...or not. When the usual fruit bowl disappeared from breakfast, an inquiry about getting a banana was met with a curt "no more fruit". It felt a bit like a scene out of Seinfeld, if you know that show. Some of this may just be due to our mutual lack of language skills. The support staff was genial, but the hostess never once seemed concerned with guest satisfaction, let alone an enjoyable stay.

One morning, when the breakfast table was one space short for us to sit, I asked if I could pull up a chair from the kitchen so we could eat together rather than wait for others to leave. There was ample room at the table, but the manager refused to allow it. This was just another example of the inhospitable and insensitive management.

WiFi was sketchy or non-existent. My iPod could only connect in one corner of my room when it was present at all. Most of the time, WiFi didn't work at all anywhere in the building. With no phones or a computer available for guest use, that was an inconvenience. As far as in-room entertainment system, the TV was a tiny 4X3 model, and there was no radio.

Renuzit air fresheners (along with their artificial odor) were everywhere for some reason. Everything seemed clean and fresh, though. Credit for that goes to the woman who did the room cleaning. She was both efficient and friendly. In the end, they deserve their two star rating that's officially posted. Having read earlier reviews here and on other sites, we just expected more. We spoke with a number of guests who told us there’d been a change of management. They recalled hot, delicious breakfasts and access to common rooms. Those days are gone.

Of the location, the neighborhood seems safe, but it feels a bit run down on parts of the street where the B&B is located. Our room overlooked a car repair shop and their lot, and there were loud house repair construction noises. This is Canada, so nothing gets too sketchy in this great city that I've seen. In fact, the location is the redeeming quality for this place. It’s in the lively Faubourg St-Jean areas, filled with shops and restaurants.

Our room was generally a happier story. It was spacious and comfortable. The double-pane windows did a good job shutting out noise and keeping the room temperature comfortable. A portable air conditioner kept it cool during our summer stay, although it was noisy as these units are. It works well though as neutral noise to mask stray sounds in the neighborhood.

There was plenty of drawer space for clothing and table space for all the things we had. Lighting was fair, although there should have been reading lights with shades instead of the glaring table lights. More comfortable chairs would also have been nice.

All the floors are nicely polished wood, which management kept in great condition by requiring that all shoes be removed at the entrance. Bring your slipper or paddle around barefoot if you prefer. I think this is an odd demand of paying guests. In fact, it is the first order given to us when we checked in.

Another oddity was being charged for our complete stay on arrival. That would have made it difficult if we had decided not to stay.

Part of the problem was the language barrier (our French is minimal), but the manager that was on duty was not very helpful with simple matters, such as where to park, and did not speak much English. If you don't speak French, be plain spoken in English and accept that the faults resulting from misunderstanding are partly yours. Better yet, get someone to translate. This is, after all, Quebec. French is the language and we are the foreigners.

We did meet many pleasant and interesting fellow guests from Quebec, France, Belgium and the US. There was a nice mixture of gay and straight guests and gay-friendly literature is readily available.

Bottom line is that the Le 727 is good enough. Not too bad, but not up to the hype of other good reviews from previous years. In the end, it's not a bad deal for the money, but keep your expectations lowered to avoid being disappointed.

Room Tip: Anything with an ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I can not recommend this B&B to anyone. Once we arrived at the B&B, we were unfriendly ordered to get off our shoes in the entrance as it is not allowed to use shoes in the house. You have to walk in socks.
After we checked in and our credit card was charged we were told that there was no breakfast on the first morning for us,a s the woman who looked after the house had holiday and the boss himself would not prepare breakfast for anyone. Though, we have paid full price.
The rooms are cheap made but look ok.
The parking costs an extra 10 bugs. Your car is on a parking area in front of the house, where 20 cars share and if you have bad luck, you are in the last row an can not get out until all other cars in front of you are removed.
Air condition is strange loud so that you have problems to sleep.
If you turn it off, you get cooked in the room and hear the parties of the hotel owner all night.

Breakfast is ok. Though, we got more breakfast for less money in Canada.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Everything about our stay was great. The location is convenient to all the action in old Quebec. Great restaurants, clubs and near the old walled city. All within walking distance. The guest house is immaculately clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a generous start to the day with much more than continental. Each room has its own unique charm - some with shared and some with private baths. The host/owner could not have been more gracious and friendly. We look forward to returning again and again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

This B&B is very well kept and is in the to Vieux Quebec. The service was very good. The location is pefect for short & long stay. The Petit Hotel is close to everything to visit in the city of Quebec, so it was nice to walk. The breakfast was excellent and I must say, it is a very good value for a nice & clean room with a good breakfast! During summer time, it's better to reserve in advance. The owner is a very nice & friendly man. I liked the good restaurants close by! I plan to go back in Feb. with a group of Friends!...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

This small B&B is advertised in several Quebec City gay travel websites and publications , which is how I learned about it. Needing a place to stay for a week during a conference two blocks away at the Convention Center, I chose Le 727 Petit primarily because of its amazing value - $75/night vs. $220/night at the hotel where the conference organizers reserved rooms. I had no regrets. The owner was friendly, the breakfast (included in price) was wonderful, the rooms were clean, comfortable, and charming, and it was close to everything even if the particular street it is on is a bit dark and unattractive. There is a charming courtyard outside which is probably great when the weather cooperates. Most rooms share a bathroom, so if that is a concern for you, you may not wish to stay here - although one room has a private bath. Close to grocery, restaurants, and bars.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le 727 Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 727 Petit Hotel

Address: 727, rue d'Aiguillon, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1M8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Also Known As:
Le 727 Petit Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le 727 Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le 727 Petit Hotel to your Saves list