We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, little else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse to your Saves list
Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse
6, rue de la Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, little else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Bed: The mattress was very uncomfortable. I slept better the following night, when we were camping in a tent.

Noise: Our room, 26, was on the front of the first level of the house. Lots of street noise, and you hear everyone coming in and out of the front door. The AC wasn't on and we were given a fan, which only made a difference if we opened the window, further adding to the noise.

Room: It felt like someone took a motel room and mashed it into a 19th-century living room. The high ceiling, chandelier, and fireplace were lovely. The original entryway into the foyer and dining room had been boarded up to create the back wall and door of the room. I'm used to these spaces being left intact to be used by guests. Other than the bed, the furniture was very modern. The bathroom had automatic dispensers for shampoo and toilet paper that were the same sort used in gas stations or fast food places. We stayed in another place with dispensers, but they used a residential-style brand.

There was a no-smoking sign, but the room smelled smoky/musty to me. We immediately opened the windows, but only one would stay open.

Breakfast: Juice, coffee, loaf bread, croissant, fruit. We weren't expecting a full meal, but this was the most limited continental breakfast I've come across, and after a bite of the croissant we left and found a pastry shop on our own.

Parking: $16/night, and not on premises.

Bottom line, I saw other places online in the same price range, and I wish we'd stayed in one of them. The location is great, but the website and price led us to expect more. I don't understand why the owner's didn't build on the charm of the houses they chose to put their hotel in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is quite simple, but it's really comfortable!
We had to get breakfast in the hotel next door because the two hotel shared the staff and the facilities, but it was no problems and the food was really good.
The staff was helpful and very kind. The hotel is really well located with an amazing view.

I loved the experience!

Room Tip: There are almost no car traffic in the street so ask for a room with a view to the Chateau Frontenac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This property is in the heart of old Quebec City; it's two blocks from Chateau Frontenac. It is part of a multi-unit complex......it's an old building attached to other old buildings that have been converted to tourist accommodation. Enjoy living in a 200 yr old (?) building. The room we had was clean and compact. The room is tiny, the bathroom is smaller, so be prepared. Highly recommended if you can roll with minor inconveniences (no bar, no room service, no on-site parking).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this hotel with my wife and daughter. The location is amazing, right beside Chateu Frontenac. Our room was in the 3th floor, and there was no elevator. The room was small but very nice and clean, and the bathroom was clean as well. The wireless internet conection was irregular and the heater made some noise during the night.
Breakfast included croissants, bread, juice, coffee and fruits, and was good.
Service was polite and correct, and provided a craddle for my daughter on request.
Cost was OK, affordable.
In summary, if travelling on a budget and want to stay in the Upper Old Town, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This smal hotel is comfortabely situated within the walls of old Quebec. We had a nice room under the rooftop with a nice view over the saint lawrence river. the bed was very small but comfy and everything was clean.
on the minus site i have to mention that there is no elevator and its quit a hard work to bring all your stuff in the second floor. the breafast was tippically french, croisant, cafe au lait and orange juice nothing special but autenthic! the personel was allmost nice. and a big big big plus is the superb location 5 minutes walk from the place d armes! and the very cheap price! only 100 CAD for a Room with breakfast in July durring Canada Day wich is the high season!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in Oct. For Quebec, this was about one of the only places we could find for around $100. It is very close to the Chateau Frontenac. We were one door down from the reception. It is an old house that they converted into a small hotel. We were only on the second floor, but yes, the stairs were steep. The room was small and the bathroom too, but it was en suite. The sink was in our bedroom, but the toilet and shower were in a small bathroom. The breakfast consisted of a croissant, orange juice, and coffee.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms are very small and badly decorated. Fridge and microwave are for community use - which was not mentioned at reservation. Breakfast was boring and self serve and we had to sit and listen to "hostess" frustrated complain about previous guests not cleaning up after finishing breakfast. Parking was extra which was also not mentioned at reservation and deposit for TV remote required. We look for another place next time.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse

Address: 6, rue de la Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within a 10-minute walk of Château Frontenac and the Citadelle of Quebec, this Old Quebec hotel offers concierge service, a continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi in public areas.The rooms at Manoir de la Terrasse include a seating area and air conditioning. A hair dryer and ironing facilities are provided.A garden with a variety of flowers is located on the premises of this Quebec City hotel. Manoir de la Terrasse is a non-smoking property.The Quebec City Convention Center is a 15-minute walk from from Manoir de la Terrasse. Jean-Lesage International Airport is 25 minutes from the hotel by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Manoir De La Terrasse Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Manoir de la Terrasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.