We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morrin Centre

Morrin Centre
44 Chausee des Ecossais, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4H3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-694-9147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 220 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come visit the Morrin Centre, Quebec City's best-kept secret! Built over 200 years ago as the city's first prison, it now houses one of the world's most beautiful libraries. This national historic site is yours to discover. Walk through foreboding jail cells and browse the books in the charming Victorian library. We also offer various productions, concerts, readings and lectures, many in English. Consider renting the Centre as the perfect place to hold your events.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Krum, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting and worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We had heard about the library so stopped in. Found there was going to be a tour witch included remains of the old prision. Well wort the stop. Quick look and some great peices of history

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    83
    15
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“A piece of history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The library is beautiful. The staff are very friendly.
The prison tours weren't available in April when we visited which was unfortunate but we'll visit next time in QC

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unexpected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were coming along for a cultural visit of an old library!!! Ohhhh... What a surprise! We had a GREAT tour. I would recommend to all...Hoping you are not afraid of ghosts!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Underrated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This facility was beautiful and had an exceptionally interesting prison tour. We happened to be in Quebec City when their celtic festival was going on and were able to enjoy it as well since it was ground zero for activities.

The library was decadent with it's old wood and dated books. The architecture and historical contributions are almost overwhelming. The walls are lined with pictures of famous military personnel and explorers from the past. The tor giuse was informative and apperaed as tho she genuinely enjoyed her job.

The prison was unique to those we had seen before in the U.S, and Caribbean, Narrow passageways led to dark chambers where prisoners has scratched images and game boards into the floor. Many rooms of preserved artifacts shined a light on how it was to live during the hayday of the prison which was on the outskirts of the city when built but was embedded by the time it was put to rest years later.

The celtic festival was wonderful and filled with dancing, drinking, and great fried food...need more? We spent a couple of hpurs at the festival after our tour and really enjoyed the bagpipes and spirit of the event. It got very crowded after 1pm.

Do visit the Morrin Center and if traveling in September try to be there for the Celtic Festival!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Tour Guide in the first jail of Quebec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We see the tour on the newpaper of the city and we when last saturday. Laurence, the tour guide, greet us and she was really nice, we talked with her waiting for the other tour guide. Maxime can speak very well in both language ( our tour was in french). He is great tour guide ; he is very interesting and put a lot of life when he is speaking. He also ask a lot of question about history, my boyfriend liked that. It was an one hour tour and it's seem to me like 10 minutes. Me and my boyfriend, we didn't see the time flow. We really enjoy the history of the jail and the building. It was interesting to learn about the first women to enter in the university or the story of the status of Wolfe.


( and I agree with the comment "don't take the 4:00 tour". We miss some time and I would like to come back in the jail and read all the sign than explain all the stuff and more. Maybe next summer with my friends and family )

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrin Centre also viewed

 

Been to Morrin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrin Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.