We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nouveau French Food Indeed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cercle

Le Cercle
228 rue Saint-Joseph Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K3A9, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
(418) 948-8648
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #132 of 1,171 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Organic, Winery, Vegetarian, Grill, Tapas, Family Fare, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Cross street: Dorchester
Description: Downtown Quebec city, in the newly renewed spirit of the Saint-Roch area, Le Cercle offers a great food, three different gallery spaces and an avant-garde musical experience all rolled-up into one. Trendy youngsters rub shoulders with businessmen from lunch hour until late night to enjoy the festive dishes, tapas and the private imported wines. The concert programming, known beyond borders, shapes day after day Le Cercle's persona where art and music meet the enjoyment of a low priced tab. //// Le restaurant-galerie du Cercle propose une expérience artistique et culinaire incontournable pour vivre l'esprit du renouveau Saint-Roch. Jeunes urbains et gens d'affaires s'y côtoient de l'heure du lunch jusqu'à tard dans la nuit pour y déguster dans une ambiance festive ses plats et ses vins en importation privée. La programmation culturelle du Cercle, reconnue au-delà de nos frontières, façonne jour après jour sa signature où les arts et la musique de l'heure rencontrent le plaisir d'une table à bon prix.  
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nouveau French Food Indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a hip happening restaurant with 3 projectors showing continuous arty videos on the wall. The food was pretty good. We had a calamari appetizer that was thankfully not breaded and deep fried. It was sliced and grilled. Tasty.

We also had grilled mini-artichokes which were very tasty.

Our main courses were good not great. Overall this restaurant is worth trying if you want to stay away from the tourist traps. Lots of locals eat here so it's got to be decent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    45
    11
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cool and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Excellent tasty food (I had the special fish dish whilst my daughter had the house-made ravioli), both beautifully presented, fabulous service from the bartender (we sat at the bar for dinner since there were no available tables) and a terrific, accommodating hostess! Our dining experience was completed by a funky art projection on the wall and a very cool local vibe. Loved this place! Get out of the tourist traps and check out Rue Saint-Joseph!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When in Quebec, get out of the Old town and explore St. Roch! St. Joseph est has many interesting places including le Cercle. We went there for brunch, as another place was full and we weren't disappointed. I had the omelette; it was fresh and full of the special of the day. As a bonus, the accompanying coffee is an espresso!! I will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Le Cercle, for a great dinner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

While Québec overall struck us as very touristic, rue St joseph and Le Cercle gave us a really cool experience of the city and its people. Le Cercle had fantastic food, very creative and great quality, and the best wine choice we have encoutnered so far.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoenderloo, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best experience having dinner during our holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

On our roundtrip through ontario&quebec we visited the beautiful(but very touristic)old town of quebec city. We stayed in the tryp hotel downtown which is a superb hotel.
It was still a long walk to the old town so we decided to look for a restaurant in the neighbourhood of the hotel and so we explored le cercle, a place for the locals with a half open patio,
It was definitely a good choice, a trendy place with nice people and fantastic food.
We had ordered the artichauts & les moules escabeche , la tartare and le cabillaud.
Al together with some nice wine the best diner we had during our holiday.
We decided our second night to come back and they didn't disappoint us, it was even so good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cercle also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Cercle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cercle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.