We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIFIC ON ALL FRONTS!!! WONDERFUL FOOD AND STAFF!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pizzaio

La Pizzaio
319 Rue Saint Paul, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3W8, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
+1 418-692-5329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,227 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TERRIFIC ON ALL FRONTS!!! WONDERFUL FOOD AND STAFF!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The warm, extra-friendly welcome was a hint of the great meal to come!!! Delicious, wonderful flavors at very affordable prices. Relaxed, casual atmosphere where you are truly welcomed, respected and treated with care. I will return!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    16
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEST PIZZA I've ever had!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I and two friends visited La Pizzaio in April of 2014. In total we got to try 8 different pizzas, which were all AMAZING. We had 4 pizzas at the resaurant and took 4 pizzas to go. My all time fave was the ARAGULA pizza! All in all this was the best pizza all 4 of us have ever had. Not only was it the best pizza, the service was top knotch! The owner was so friendly and made time for us on a personal level and even explained how he came about getting his recipe. We asked what pizzas would be best served cold as we had a show to go to and wanted a pizza for later and the owner was so gracious to tell us he would be there all night if we had to come back after closing to get our pizza. We can't wait to get back to Quebec, this will be our first stop when we arrive!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My grandmother and I visited La Pizzaio on our last night in Quebec City, culminating a 4 day trip. We both agreed that it was one of, if not the best pizza we have ever had.
The staff were so friendly and had no problem with our English requests.
Me, being a very picky eater had no problem finding something to eat, as the staff was very open to substitutions. A truly lovely meal.
The pizza crust was very thin and was presented in a unique and interesting way.
The waiter, owner both took time out of their night to talk with us about our experiences in Quebec City and genuinely cared about our trip.

We would definitely go again and would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Quebec City.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You should really try this pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was a very memorable meal and fairly unique pizza. We would highly encourage people to try it.
It is a VERY thin crust pizza, which is great since I'd rather enjoy the toppings than a bunch of pizza dough anyway. And the toppings were delicious. Great tasting pepperoni, great tasting pizza.

It was a few minutes' walk downhill from Rue Saint Jean, which is in the heart of Vieux Quebec.

The service was great, though it got off to a bit of a funny start. It didn't seem at first like the place was even open and a young man (likely owner's son) was sitting in the corner doing some homework. We were the only ones in there then (more came later), so we had a bit of a bad feeling. But the owner / chef made up for it after that. We were there with our three young children and he was very good with them. Although there was no children's menu, he made us a child's portion of spaghetti and just charged half the price.

And, he simply made delicious pizzas. We ordered 3 pizzas and the child's spaghetti. For my seven year old boy, the one pizza was a little more than enough. For my wife and I, our pizzas did not stuff us, but it was satisfying, and we were already planning to go elsewhere for dessert anyway.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply the best traditional thin crust high quality A MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews I knew it was a must - super fantastic -across fr the marche market this was an elegant quaint pizzeria - mark owner and our host not only made a great pizza but being the only ppl there (he stayed open to accommodate us on a evening usually closed ) Mark was a gracious host and made us feel like royalty and we swapped stories on our sons sports ambitions. All that aside BEST PIZZA IN NORTH AMERICA PLS GO SEE MARK YOU WILL NOT REGRET. TOUCH OF FURTHER CLASS IN ALREADY CLASSY CITY!! Thks Mark - Susy an Ray

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pizzaio also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to La Pizzaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pizzaio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.