We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brutal at restaurant.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grill de Sainte Anne

Le Grill de Sainte Anne
32 rue Sainte-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-692-4447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #452 of 1,141 restaurants in Quebec City
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
1 review
“Brutal at restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant only. 20 min wait although seats were obviously open. Waitress took our order and then we saw her 3 times in the next hour. A long wait for food which was overpriced for what was served. No garnishes for baked potato. No hand cleaner despite having ribs. Daughter ended up dipping her hand in her water glass to wash her hands. An awful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    9
    12
    9
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A horrible tourist trap.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Yes, this place is located right on a lovely strip of cafes along Saint-Anne street. Yes, it was nice to watch people go by enjoying the city. Yes, the weather was lovely, and we ate on the quaint patio.

However, none of this makes up for the fact that the food was atrocious, and horribly overpriced. The food was what you would find in a school cafeteria. I understand that in this location prices will be inflated - but there has to be a limit to what is served for the money. My husband and I left this place ANGRY.

I ordered the 'grilled vegetable' salad with pine nuts. One would expect for twenty bucks there would actually be grilled vegetables and pine nuts in the salad. What they brought out was a bowl of lettuce with tiny diced up peppers and no pine nuts....I could have made this salad at home in my sleep. It was outrageous that this would even be served for the price. My husband ordered the "grilled Panini" and fries which again, were both terrible. The Panini was hardly toasted, and it had chunks of ham inside that didn't even look like meat.

All in all, we were very upset with this place, and want to leave this warning here on TripAdvisor. We stopped here simply because we got over-hungry and it was close-by. I wish we had researched this place beforehand an avoided it completely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not great, but nice location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were staying at the hotel upstairs and since it was late, we decided to try the restaurant. They were able to seat us fairly quickly even though it was busy, but from that point on the service was mediocre at best.

I ordered a mediterranean pizza type, which was fine but nothing special. The crust was a little flabby and the flavors were kind of pigeon like.

My wife had steak frites that she really didn't care for, as the steak wasn't cooked to her liking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol ri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Meal in a Romantic Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a terrific dinner on rue Sainte-Anne while listening to the street performers and enjoying drinks. The wait staff was great and the food was delicious. Highly recommended for couples looking for a nice evening out in Quebec.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, less than average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The terrasse had a good atmosphere to it given the background music from a street musician nearby. Very busy tourist street. The food was good (had the pork loin glazed in maple syrup for 26$ and salmon tartar for 15$; small portions) however the service was less than average. The servors were uncoordinated and indifferent, getting twice the order from another table. Plus, we had to ask for our own bread basket after 15 min of being seated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grill de Sainte Anne also viewed

 

Been to Le Grill de Sainte Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grill de Sainte Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.