We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy budget hotel in the middle of all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Saint Louis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Saint Louis to your Saves list
L'Auberge Saint Louis
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   48 Rue Saint-Louis | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z3, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 125 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Cozy budget hotel in the middle of all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was a nice experience and right in the middle of all city attractions.
Bedroom was basic but comfortable with a nice view on street scenery and
nearby Chateau Frontenac.
Jacques, the receptionnist, took time to point out nearby attractions and
restaurants to go. For breakfast we could choose between French toast,
crepes or eggs all served with slices of fruits, potatoes and bacon.

We definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: The street side is quite scenic with old buildings and nice shops while rooms facing the backyard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea2q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great location right in the middle of beautiful Old Quebec. Very good value (the same price as the local hostels for much more quality!). The furnishing of the hotel is not fancy but it is clean and comfortable. What really stood out for us was the friendliness of all the staff who we met. In particular, when leaving the hotel earlier than breakfast begins, one member of staff insisted that he made us a breakfast to take away. We felt very welcome throughout our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a great time here but I can see how it could be hit and miss. The rooms are quite variable - we started off in a small room but were changed to a bigger one because they were deep cleaning the carpets on that floor... in both cases for us, the rooms were fine, with wifi and bathroom. Not the most modern ever, but clean ... The mattress in the second room was not great, though - too soft. Ask to see a couple of rooms if you can, before making a decision.

The cooked breakfast is very good (coffee a little weak but that seems to be the norm here) but you will wait longer for it, so don't go down to breakfast 10 minutes before you need to head to the airport.

Overall, its quiet and value for money. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

L Auberge St Louis is in the heart of the old city, within walking distance of most attractions. Public car park is very close and the hotel charges $14 for 24 hours.
Room is small, dark and roughly painted and finished. Neon tube lighting all around. Old, dusty and dirty carpets. So called private bathroom is actually a converted wardrobe. Toilet flush had to be fixed after one use. Reception is nearly always closed. Breakfast is included and served at a bar in the basement. Staff is trying to be helpful but speaks very little French and very little English. If you are trying to meet and discover the Quebec people and culture, you might be disappointed.
$79 + tax is a good price for the location, however the experience was so bad we would never recommend this place to anyone. Website info and pictures do not reflect reality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

If you are looking for a no-frills stay in a great location, this is it. Our group of 4 stayed here during the last weekend of Carnaval (mid-February). The location was perfect -- right on the main street in Old Quebec -- and the price was right ($69/night + tax). We were able to park our car and check-in earlier than the advertised check-in time. Although we were on the fourth floor and had to walk up narrow and steep staircases, it was kind of fun. The rooms were small -- especially the room with the sloped roof -- but it was perfectly servicable. The shared bathroom wasn't a problem, there are two on each floor (e.g. one for approximately every 4-5 rooms). Breakfast wasn't stupendous, and wouldn't fill up a hearty eater (the eggs were very undercooked and portions were small), but it was decent and the staff are helpful (even if they don't speak a ton of English).

All in all, I would go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: The sloped roof makes it very hard for tall people. Ask for one not across from the bathroom. Four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Having walked around the old town and been to 4 other places ranging between 170-99€ we came accross this very unpretentious Auberge. Don't be put off by the downstairs reception it gets better when you get to the rooms. We were on the 3rd floor at the back. Very quiet. The room was quite small but they had made the best use of the space available and little thoughtful things like accessible plug above the bed for recharging electronic devises. The room was very clean and contemporary and tastefully decorated in cream and taupe. Quebec itself is a very pretty city especially at night when the roofs in the old part are lit up and very beautiful. If you stay here for 69€ you can afford a cocktail in the bar at the Chateau Fairmont overlooking the River Lawrence...an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NettieDearmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Let's start off by setting expectations. L'Auberge Saint Louis is not a luxury hotel but it is a fantastic option for travelers who on a budget and are just looking for a nice, clean place to stay in which is close to all of the attractions. This hotel ticks all of those boxes and more!

My boyfriend and I had 3 nights at L'Auberge Saint Louis. We did our research and looked at other reviews so asked for a larger room facing the street. The staff were very friendly and eager to assist with our request and even better, did it in English as our French was poor. We managed to get a nice big room on the 4th floor - bear in mind, this is the attic essentially so in some areas the room lacked ceiling space. Nevertheless, the room had a great view of Saint Louis which stretches all the way down to Chateau Frontenac.

As we were facing the street there was quite a bit of street noise with the windows open. The staff warned us of this when we asked for a room facing the street so it was not unexpected and certainly not unbearable.if you are a light sleeper though, I would suggest earplugs or a room that doesn't face the street.

One small note about the 4th floor is that you do have to climb quite a steep staircase on the last flight so do be aware if you have lots of luggage. A tip - there is another staircase at the opposite end of the hallway which is a little easier to navigate.

We had our own sink in the room and a shared bathroom just down the hallway. The room was clean and tidy, although the duvet cover on the bed could probably do with a little more regular washing. The bathroom was immaculate. Our only gripe was that the hot water for the shower took about 5-10mins to come. Although it was a shared bathroom, we didn't ever have to wait to use it and there were plenty more downstairs if you were desperate.

Breakfast was included each day at the restaurant downstairs. It was basic - we had a choice of a croissant, a crepe or an egg each served with toast as well as tea, coffee, juice etc - but all we needed and the staff were very quick to get the food out to you even when there were lots of guests down there at once.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good value stay in the heart of old Quebec. I would not recommend to anyone accustomed to staying in 5 star resorts - there are plenty of other stays in Old Quebec for you!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princessfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#43 of 105 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#2 of 105 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#12 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#5 of 105 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#6 of 105 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Saint Louis

Address: 48 Rue Saint-Louis | Vieux-Québec, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Auberge Saint Louis 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your L'Auberge Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint Louis Hotel Quebec City
L'Auberge Saint Louis Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing