We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Louisbourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Louisbourg to your Saves list
Hotel Louisbourg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Saint Louis Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 10% off room rate
Ranked #77 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Sherbrooke, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

the best part of staying at this hotel was the awesome location it provides. the hotel, though, is extremely noisy. some staff were not very reliable or helpful but others were friendly and caring. the hot tub in the main hotel was extremely relaxing on the cold and rainy days.

Room Tip: the smallest room is extremely small. barely any room to move around. also, watch your head! we stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Risha D,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the perfect location of the hotel.
Concerning the noise, it might be due to some work in room that we are actually finishing
We have worked hard this the winter to renovate many rooms and we are actually finishing some details to improve our guest experience.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
15
66
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

No frill hotel, rooms are clean and price is good. Great location in Old town, restaurants nearby,all attractions in walking distance.

Staff is nice and check in is at another location around the corner. They have luggage service. No elevator.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the room and the location of the hotel.
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again soon.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Last year we stayed at the Louisberg in a junior suite which was perfect. This year we just rented a regular room. It was small and the bed was ok. The room was tastefully decorated, clean, heated well, and had everything we needed for a short stay. The location is PERFECT! We got breakfast this year which we did not include last year. The food was cold but there was a variety..,,

Room Tip: higher floor: better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you also enjoyed your second stay at the Louisbourg hotel .Hoping to have the chance to welcome you on the future !
Best regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Second time at this hotel and very satisfied. Affordable, clean & great location.
Breakfast included in price but there are much nicer breakfast locations around if you don't mind missing the free food.
We will return again next bisit tp Qc.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and it always be a pleasure to welcome you.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

What a surprise when the taxi dropped us and our luggage off at the Louisbourg Hotel! Upon opening the door, we found the next door locked. The hotel has no reception area. Finally we found a map telling us to walk two blocks to another hotel. So my husband and I trudged with our four suitcases and two carry-ons, in the rain, to the other hotel. By then we were not happy campers. But we were told that when you ordered on Expedia- you took a chance.

They were nice enough to store and luggage and even transport it to our room in the Louisbourg until we could get into the room. At 4 our room was ready, so we went up the four flights of stairs (the last leg of the staircase is definitely leaning) and to find that we had rented a garret. Yes, a garret. The two dormer windows and sloping roof left little room for more than the two beds in the place. It was clean but you could almost get a nosebleed from walking up the four flights of stairs in this old row house.

My husband is 82 so having no elevator was not a good thing. But we tried to make the most of the situation. Unfortunately we had to stay in that room for two nights. Did I mention that there was construction going on right in front of the hotel?

While we were there, no one came to make up our room so we got no fresh towels and no one made our beds. So would I ever consider staying there again? No Way- it is the worst accommodation that we have ever had.

Room Tip: Check out the room first and be careful ordering on line. They let us know that when we order on Ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our hotel.
We are really sorry to read this kind of comment as we work really hard to offer you the best.
As you mentioned, the Louisbourg Hotel doesn't have a reception and you have to go at the Acadia hotel as it mentioned on every website (also on expedia when you have to check the case that you agree conditions and terms). Also as you mentioned we do not have an elevator in this hotel, this is why we offer porter service that bring luggage into your room. About the cleaning of the room it is totally unacceptable and we will do a follow up with the cleaning team about this problem. We take great consideration of your comment and we will do our best to improve our performance .
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Rooms are "simple" but very clean. Location is great, lots of good restaurants nearby. Breakfast is awful, don't waste your time! Lots of other places to choose. Shopping nearby. Check in & check out went very smoothly.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your opinion about your recent stay.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and we are really sorry to see that breakfast was not one of these. We do our best to offer something convenient to all and we will continue to work on it.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This hotel has a great location in the old city with some great restaurants close by and easy walking access to the sights. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable and free wifi was included (ours worked fine). However, this is not a location for anyone who has a problem climbing stairs. There are no elevators and there is no front desk at this location. The front desk is located around the corner at the Hotel Acadia. We had to pay an additional $20 per day for valet parking but this is a necessity within the old city.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien_Collin, Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time to share your comment about our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you mainly enjoyed your stay and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again.
Regards,
Sébastien Collin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Louisbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louisbourg

Address: 68 Saint Louis Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Louisbourg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Louisbourg is a 22 room hotel located in the heart of Old-Quebec. All our rooms combine an historic ambiance with a more modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Louisbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louisbourg Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Louisbourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.