We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Louisbourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Louisbourg to your Saves list
Hotel Louisbourg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Saint Louis Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #77 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Hackensack, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place wasn't too bad. The hotel is at a great location right in the heart of Old Quebec, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The only issue I had was the front desk was actually at Hotel Acadia, and I had to keep walking around the corner in the frigid cold to get to this hotel. Otherwise, a really nice place to stay while visiting Old Quebec.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review Hotel Louisbourg. We're pleased to see that our hotel has met your expectations and hoping to welcome you again on a next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    42
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
15
65
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

For $150/night, this room is veryreasonably priced for its location and quality. we had a beautiful room (stone exposed wall), marble bathroom and comfortable bed. The mini fridge meant we could keep beer and cream for coffee cold. There was an electric fire place as well as radiator heat that kept the room beautifully warm even when it was -28C outside!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review Hotel Louisbourg. We're pleased to see that our hotel has met your expectations and we would be happy to welcome you again on a next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Cozy, beautiful room. Very comfortable. Check in is at the hotel acadia right around the corner. The staff is very helpful and nice. Really gives you a feeling of being in an apartment in Paris. The size of the room was small but with so much to visit and do in quebec city I don't see anyone needing to spend the whole day in their room. It was truly a beautiful experience.

Room Tip: No elevators so guests who would not be able to climb up many stairs should ensure, when booking, to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

A small but beautiful room. The fact that the lobby was down the street just added to the charm. Everyone was very friendly and we really enjoyed ourselves. We had a delicious dinner at Le Lobby where the price was reasonable and the waitress was above average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing you stay at our hotel. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is the perfect pick for the traveler on a budget. Our room was small, but had a warm Canadian feel. Hardwood floors and marble bath made for an impeccably clean room. The location is perfect for all of the attractions. The front desk, about 4 doors away, was going full speed around the clock, but, always gracious and helpful. The street doors are locked at all times. They are opened with a key or code. We did not have a car, but there is a small lot that gets packed in the evening. The rooms seemed to be serviced by young congenial boys. We thank them for accommodating a late check-out. Excellent dining within a short block.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBergeron-Ouellet, General Manager at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking some of your time to review Hotel Louisbourg. As you mentioned, our hotel is located near all the main attractions of the city. We're pleased to see that our hotel has met your expectations and we would be happy to welcome you again on a next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location was great and the old building charming but there were problems. The room was very small but we made do with a little sitting room outside of our door. We were there for 3 nights and every day the smell of smoke inside the room kept getting stronger till the last night we had to ask to move because we couldn't breathe. A couple in a next door room stated the same thing. They did move us to another property down the street, it was pouring down rain and we had to move our own luggage. There were extra charges on the bill that did get workend out eventually but I would not recommend to friends or family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Louisbourg is a great place to stay, the only negative experience being that the reception is located on a side street, but it's not a big trouble and once passed the check in there's no need to return.

The hotel is located in an old building inside the city walls, which means that the floor and walls are about as crooked as one could expect from an old building. In my opinion, this only adds to the charm!

There is Wi-Fi on every floor, the rooms are clean and cozy. As can be expected with such a central location they are somewhat small, but that's not a real issue with so many things to experience nearby.

The breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant next door. It's a warm, american style buffet; there are fried potatoes, bacon, scrambled egg, sausages, pancakes and toast. Overall the food quality was good, though somewhat boring.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and the stairs may be tough on children or elders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankbeo, Director of Sales at Hotel Louisbourg, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel! We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel has met your expectations. We would be happy to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Louisbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louisbourg

Address: 68 Saint Louis Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Louisbourg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Louisbourg is a 22 room hotel located in the heart of Old-Quebec. All our rooms combine an historic ambiance with a more modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Louisbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louisbourg Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Louisbourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.