We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny place with great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bistro du Cap

Cafe Bistro du Cap
67, rue du Sault-Au-Matelot, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3Y9, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418 692 1326
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,141 restaurants in Quebec City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Tiny place with great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a small place located in the lower part of the old city among the galleries and shops. Food is excellent and the service is friendly and attentive. It's a bit off the higher traffic area but only takes a few minutes to walk there from nearby hotels and the relaxed pace around it is very pleasant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    121
    40
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average place, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Their best asset is the location.

Food was ok. I ordered the bison stew with tagliatelle. Much too salty and overcooked meat. My partner order the beef tenderloin (mashed potatoes and vegetables) that was very good. The creme brulee was badly burnt so we had to send that back. Approximately 10 person seating, making the place cozy and intimate.

There are many similar places around, so I'd take my chances elsewhere. Not a bad place, but you can find better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant during our stay in Quebec City. The food was delicious! The wine selection was great! We enjoyed venison stew, bison ravioli with mushroom sauce, cottage pie and a great special of sauerkraut and mixed meat (sausage, pork tenderloin and liver dumpling). There weren't many people in the restaurant but it was one of the best meals that we had. The carrot soup and profiteroles were also fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic food and great service. The best meal of our visit to Quebec City. The restaurant is small and intimate, not flashy or touristy like others in the same neighborhood.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a tiny little bistro that is quite authentic. The food is good confort food, nothing fancy but very tasty and at a reasonable price. I had a crêpe and my husband had a cottage pie with a soup to start. Both were quite good. There is a good choice of wines by the glass as well.

For the two of us with 2 glasses of wine, tip and taxes, the bill came to $57 -- a very reasonably priced lunch for this part of town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bistro du Cap also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Cafe Bistro du Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bistro du Cap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.