We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and well managed hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL to your Saves list
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Chateau Fleur de Lys)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful and well managed hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel in August this year. We were there for 3 nights before heading to Montreal. The owners are amazing. Olivier is just the most considerate and patient individual that we have met. I had left my mobile in an airport cab and he managed to retrieve it. He was also so kind to give us a detailed list of things to do and places to go to in Quebec City. The location of this hotel is perfect. Walking distance to everything. The city is lovely and so charming. Its difficult to not have a fantastic vacation when in Quebec city.

Tip: Do visit Cafe St Malo for an authentic french dinner. You wont regret it. Do make bookings as its got limited seating

Thank you Olivier and team. We shall be back in February 2015...see you then

Room Tip: Try to book the higher floors ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comment and your so nice compliments.

You know we are hotel owners but we are also frequent travelers, and we know how it can be difficult to manage an incident when we are far from home, this is why we always do the best to try solve the problems met by our guest.

It is a great idea to come to see us again in February for the Winter Carnaval (the first 2 weeks of the month), but don't wait too long before to do your reservation, this period is very busy and the availabilities are lower every days. Don't hesitate to contact us directly we will arrange your stay at the best conditions, as we use to do with our loyal guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you this winter,

With our warm regards,

Olivier & Romuald (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    30
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great place to stay! My mum and I stayed here for 3 nights, great location to see everything in old Quebec City. The owners and staff are friendly and extremely helpful, giving very good suggestions on places to eat. Yes this is an older hotel, and if you read the particulars you will see that you will have to climb stairs, and the owners are doing renovations, which you are told about....RIP hall carpet! But it is a quaint hotel, full of history, and if you spend time Olivier will tell you about its history. If you are a "holiday inn" kind of person this may not be the hotel for you, but if you like original, and somewhere with character....you can't beat it.

Room Tip: Ask for main floor if you don't want to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

Please receive our warm thanks for your stay, comments and for the time you spent to share your opinion about our hotel with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

You are totally right, Château Fleur de Lys is not the right address for hotel chains lovers, but certainly one of the best for the people who look for a charming and quaint hotel, close to everything in the Old Quebec City but far from the crowd and the noise.
Even renovated Château Fleur de Lys won't be perfect but will remain a place where hospitality, charm and originality will be king.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Warm regards,

Olivier & Romuald (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay very much - the old world character of the hotel is very charming (although the bathroom (and entrance to it) need to be updated - some simple fixes would move this hotel from acceptable to extraordinary.
The staff were wonderful, the location was fabulous, but again, things like very tired/dirty carpets take away from the over all experience.
The extra cost for breakfast was well worth it, but it's not a very heart friendly menu.
Parking is also extra, but it was just at the back of the hotel, so we didn't have to go far.
Thanks again to the tremendous staff - you really did make all the difference. The Taits from Guelph, Ontario

Room Tip: We had a superior guest room on the main floor - the hotel guests were all pretty reserved, so there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your long stay in our hotel and for the comments you wrote on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you have appreciated our hospitality and the old charm of our Hotel.

Regarding the renovation, as already explained here numerous of times, we are currently renovating our Hotel and the things take time. However, that said a lot things have already been done in less than a year (we only own the hotel for less than 11 months), and if we believe our regular guests, things are going in the right direction.
Regarding the carpets, the one of the common area has been replaced since your visit, and the one of your room (one of our last three room to still have a carpet) will be removed within the coming weeks.

Please do not hesitate to visit us again, for sure you will see some changes.

With our best regards,

Olivier & Romuald (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had one free day on a trip to New England so decided to head a little north and explore Vieux Quebec. The location of Chateau Fleur De Lys was perfect -- just a couple blocks from Frontenac and the promenade, shopping and restaurants. Being off a side street, it was extremely quiet.

The owners were outstanding, checking us in late and then immediately setting us up with reservations for an outstanding French restaurant, St. Malo, then directing us to the cheapest public parking in the old town. The homemade croissants at the morning breakfast were outstanding.

The room itself had an archaic charm, and the bed was heavenly to sleep on. The bathroom was a little outdated, but we understand the new owners are updating these things in phases. All I can say is so far, so good!

Room Tip: Be aware that a couple rooms have a shared bathroom across the hall. They are of course, cheaper, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Steve,

Many thanks for your stay in our Hotel and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you have appreciated your short stay in our Hotel.

Since your visit, our famous carpet has been changed, and we have closed 2 of our superior rooms (including the one where you stayed) in order to renovate and redecorate them. It will be our christmas gift for our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Warm regards,

Olivier & Romuald (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this lovely hotel in the middle of September on the top floor. It was an excellent place for us. We thought the hotel location could not be better - right beside a beautiful public garden and our room had views of the St Lawrence River and another window showed the public garden. The room and bathroom were always clean and the beds were very comfortable. The team of Olivier, Romuald and Audrey were particularly helpful - more than they knew. The ground floor lounge was a meeting place for the travellers who chose to gather there. The atmosphere amongst the travellers reminded me of being on the road in the seventies. We loved this place. 5 Stars from us.

Room Tip: Room with a view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion about our Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are particularly pleased that you have appreciated the "On the road" atmosphere, because that is exactly what we are trying to create here : A hotel where the visitor has pleasure to have a rest and to enjoy a warm and friendly atmosphere.

Melbourne is quite far, but we hope that your travels will drive you to Quebec another time.

Warm regards,

Olivier & Romuald (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister and I stayed here in October and we loved it, we went in on the off chance to see if there was a vacancy for 3 nights, I am so glad we did. Both Olivier and Audrey were exceptionally helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a happy experience. I have to agree with all the other reviews and cannot think of anything that hasn't already been said.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone visiting Quebec.

Room Tip: We had a basement room which we were happy in. See other reviews for rooms on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sylvie,

Many thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor and for your recommendation.

We perfectly remember your arrival at the Hotel, looking for a confortable room in order to escape the uncomfortable and shameful place where you were staying.

We are very pleased and proud to have succeeded to transform your bad experience in a pleasant and memorable stay and hope to see you again.

Warm regards

Olivier & Romuald (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was delicious! A charming place to stay! The only thing we didn't like was the view from our room (a fire escape staircase). Apart from that we would totally recommend it!

Room Tip: The room we got had a fire escape view (which was not nice at all). Ask for rooms with a view to Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about our lovely Château, we all appreciate its content

Regarding the view from your room we take the opportunity to remind that in our room description we precise that our standard rooms have no particular view, this is one of the reason of their very attractive price all year long.

Do not hesitate to visit us again and to try one of our superior room at the upper level.

Warm regards,

Olivier & Romuald (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL

Address: 15, avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Chateau Fleur de Lys)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of the Old Quebec city, at the corner of the Governors' garden, facing the Chateau of Frontenac, the Dufferin Terrace and the Saint Lawrence river, the Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL is a Victorian style house from the 19th century. Recently purchased in 2014, the hotel is evolving everyday to offer better comfort to its guests: all rooms have now an all new set of bed linen (4 star hotel standard sheets, quilt and quilt covers) and bathroom towels of high quality, free WIFI, hairdryer, and a up-to-date fire safety system. By summer, all rooms will be equipped with flat screens with cable television (over 40 channels). Thanks to its great location, you can access the most popular attractions by foot in just a few minutes : Quebec Parliament, Quebec Convention Center, Plains of Abraham, the Citadelle. If you are looking for theatrical entertainment, the Capitol Theater and Quebec's Grand Theater are also within walking distance. The hotel is dedicated to travels and guests seeking a key position to visit the city for business or pleasure with the quaintness of a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Chateau Fleur De Lys Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Fleur De Lys - L'HOTEL Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.