We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful and in the heart of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL

Save Saved
You added Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Chateau Fleur de Lys)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
New Milford, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful and in the heart of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for three nights after staying in Montreal for three nights. The Chateau Fleur de Lys was a fantastic place to stay and one I can't recommend enough. It is just off the main square behind the Chateau Frontenac and easily within walking distance of Upper Town, Lower Town, and the Plains of Abraham/Citadel. Yet being just a block or two off really keeps it quiet and makes it seem like you're staying in some small, French hamlet in the countryside.

The rooms were not large but if you're in a city like this you're not spending much time in your room anyway. It had more than enough space for two people to get ready in the morning and not trip over one another. Our room even had a small terrace in the back we could use if we wanted.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The girl woman who worked the nights (I am awful with names and have unfortunately forgotten hers) was exceedingly helpful. She even passed us on the street one night by coincidence and helped us find a restaurant to get a late dinner.

Pros:
Free (and fast) WiFi.
Great breakfast in a very nice living room.
Very quiet.

Cons:
No parking.


Everything about the hotel exceeded my expectations and when we visit QC again in the future there is no doubt in my mind that we will be staying at the Chateau Fleur de Lys.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We are Americans who pursue an active lifestyle, appreciate functional and clean lodging with easy-in and easy-out access. We avoid grand hotels and approach chains with care.

Notable positives (in no particular order): owners are renovating property well in a European style, a quiet location close to cultural sites, excellent front staff, large room, contemporary linens, good value, fast wifi (included)

Notable negatives (in no particular order): small bathroom with minimal counter space, have to park in city garage, no in room safe, effective but noisy A/C, very limited storage (typical of European-style hotels), can trip on rugs on rugs

We would definitely stay here again. The owners are doing a great job of renovating. It is not a flashy place but comfortable and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and were pleased with our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 nights in this charming hotel. Room was small, but I was expecting that. Staff was very helpful and patient. Perfect location to walk to all the attractions, yet quiet and peaceful too. I love the beautiful city of Quebec. Will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for my bachelorette party. The hotel was to be a surprise for me, being in a classic building with Victorian details... completely my style. We were treated as a rowdy group from the start, told to be quiet when we would return that evening, were not allowed to take an iron/ironing board to our room but had to iron our clothes in the kitchen with supervision.
After the fact, we were charged for using the facecloths to wash off makeup... I've never had this happen, and found it extremely insulting.

We also ended up having two extra people with us, but as having 3 beds in each room, it shouldn't have been a problem. The staff gave us hassle about it, even though we were willing to pay the extra charge. What was meant to be a special, memorable experience was brought down due to our treatment at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I could not have been more pleased with the welcome extended to me by Audrey at the front desk and by Olivier who is the owner. Moreover, the room was crisp, clean and beautifully arranged...and although this top floor room was a serious climb up the stairs everyone helped to get my luggage up and down. The view from this corner room was not expansive - but wonderful: it provided a glimpse of the St Lawrence as well as the tower of the Chateau Frontenac.

Plus, I was just a few steps away from the main promenade just below.

This is not an area where parking is adjacent - but there is a garage a couple of blocks away. I cannot imagine that any hotel in the area actually has parking in the Old City.

The bed is nothing short of wonderful and the linens were divine!

Room Tip: My room was # 30 at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor, we are delighted to read that you have appreciated your stay in our hotel, the quality of our linen and the availability and good advice of Audrey.

We look forward to welcome you soon for another stay,

Warm regards,

Olivier & Romuald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is conveniently located in old town and is within short walking distance to all the attractions in old town. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We're especially happy that we can keep our bikes in the garage and didn't have to carry them up the stairs. The breakfast room is nicely decorated and offers a nice view of Château Frontenac. The bathroom is a bit small but that's expected given that it's a 19th century Victorian building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Crystal,

Many thanks for taking the time to share you opinion about our Hotel with the Tripadvisor users.

We are happy to read that you have appreciated your stay in our hotel and the efforts we have done to make it comfortable.

Regarding the bikes, we find indeed more convenient for our cyclist guests to keep their bikes in our garage, where they are able to access when they want and as often as they want.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Warm regards,

Olivier & Romuald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took the route that Arnold took,thru Maine then up to Quebec. What a pleasant surprise, to be welcomed to an original place in history. The room was spotless. The staff was willing to meet any demands, including a room change. I am looking foward to our return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Michael,

Many thanks for your kind words. We really appreciate to read such comments, because for us each guest is a challenge and our job is to transform the challenge into a victory by making our guest happy. To be fully honnest we love to make people happy.

We look forward to welcome you again and again,

Warm regards,

Olivier & Romuald (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL

Address: 15, avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Chateau Fleur de Lys)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of the Old Quebec city, at the corner of the Governors' garden, facing the Chateau of Frontenac, the Dufferin Terrace and the Saint Lawrence river, the Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL is a Victorian style house from the 19th century. Recently purchased in 2014, the hotel is evolving everyday to offer better comfort to its guests: all rooms have now an all new set of bed linen (4 star hotel standard sheets, quilt and quilt covers) and bathroom towels of high quality, free WIFI, hairdryer, and a up-to-date fire safety system. By summer, all rooms will be equipped with flat screens with cable television (over 40 channels). Thanks to its great location, you can access the most popular attractions by foot in just a few minutes : Quebec Parliament, Quebec Convention Center, Plains of Abraham, the Citadelle. If you are looking for theatrical entertainment, the Capitol Theater and Quebec's Grand Theater are also within walking distance. The hotel is dedicated to travels and guests seeking a key position to visit the city for business or pleasure with the quaintness of a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Fastbooking so you can book your Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Chateau Fleur De Lys Hotel Quebec City
Chateau Fleur De Lys - L'HOTEL Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.