We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quebec Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL

Save Saved
You added Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Chateau Fleur de Lys)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
St. John's, Canada
1 review
“Quebec Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my girlfriend wanted to take a trip away from Newfoundland for a few days and found this hotel on hot wire! Staff were amazing and the location was great. Olivier one of the owners is an amazing man and accommodated us however he could! He even gave us a bottle of wine for my girlfriends Birthday. I would highly recommend this hotel. Only minutes away from down-town Quebec and has such character. A++ in my books!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Meghan, Dear Mark,

First of all we would like to thank your for your stay at Château Fleur de Lys and we hope that your journey back to your home was not too difficult due to big storm of last week.

We are pleased to read your comment and to know that we are on your top list. Be sure that we have also appreciated to welcome you and we are looking forward to see you again.

Manon thanks you for the special attention you let for her.

Kind regards, and don't hesitate to visit us in summer , here is also a lot of to do.

La direction, Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

On a last minute whim my girlfriend and I decided to stay a 3rd night in Quebec and chose Chateau Fleu de Lys...we were not disappointed. The price was great, the location within the city was where we wanted to be, and the room as comfy as one could want. I almost felt how a writer would in a quaint room w/a bottle of red looking to write his love a poem.

My only (and it is very) minor issue was the wi-fi kept cutting in and out. It was only a minor issues as our plan was not to spend a whole night in the room, but it did prove troublesome when trying to figure out a place to eat.

I can't wait to get back to Quebec, and I'm 100% certain I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much to taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry for your troubles with Internet, since we have totally changed our installation last month this should not happen, but be sure that we are going to follow very closely the situation.

For your next stay, please don't hesitate to directly call us, we will choose together one of our room with a splendid view on the Saint-Laurence River, and for sure you will find the inspiration to write a new romantic poem to your love...

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again,

Kind regards,

La direction, Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

great location. nice place, modest accommodations because the washroom was very small and in the common hallway, but very clean. the staff was professioanal and friendly. good value. I would return or refer friends and family perhaps this summer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate to receive feedback from our customers.

In order to complete and avoid any misunderstanding, we only have 2 rooms (on 17) with private washroom outside of the room in our hotel - Our Guest rooms (Chambre d'Ami in French). These 2 small rooms are clearly identified on our website and sold at a very attractive price in order to allow everybody to stay with us no matter the budget. Last but not least these 2 rooms are only sold on our own website or at the hotel, and people who stay in them are always informed before to book this room that they don't have inner washroom.
By the way these rooms have the same bed clothing than the order rooms, and both of them have a view.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL,



Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was the third hotel that we stayed in as we travelled Parts of Ontario and Quebec last winter. It was by far the best choice of hotels that we made during our trip.

- Breakfast was a great bonus
- FrontDesk staff was freindly
- Nothing really to complain about but hair found in the tub.

Only a few moments from everything that allowed to maximize our activities in such a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

You stayed at Chateau Fleur de Lys few months ago and you have appreciated you stay.

We would like to advise you that the hotel have been sold during the winter 2013-2014, and is currently changing in order to reach higher confort standards. We have by example changed all bed clothing, curtains, aminities products, all our rooms are now equipped with a hair dryer and will be equiipped by this summer with flat-screen TV. More than this we have changed the WIFI, you have now access to Internet from everywhere in the Hotel. Last but not least, we serve now a full continental breakfast inside the hotel. For more details visit our website.

We hope that all these changes will prompt you to visit us soon,

Best regards,

La direction, Olivier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just the basics, friendly service, room is a room. For the price it was perfect. A 3 minute walk from the Chateau Frontenac and Vieux Quebec. 15 minute walk to Grande Allee restaurants and The Plains of Abraham. Basic breakfast was included in our price. I'll give the hotel a 4/5. It was just lacking the proper room amenities.

Room Tip: If you want the basics and just want a place to sleep in, this is the place. Don't forget to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

You stayed at Chateau Fleur de Lys few months ago and you have appreciated your stay.

We would like to advise you that the hotel have been sold during the winter 2013-2014, and is currently changing in order to reach higher confort standards. We have by example changed all bed clothing, curtains, aminities products, all our rooms are now equipped with a hair dryer and will be equiipped by this summer with flat-screen TV. More than this we have changed the WIFI, you have now access to Internet from everywhere in the Hotel. Last but not least, we serve now a full continental breakfast inside the hotel. For more details visit our website.

We hope that all these changes will prompt you to visit us soon,

Best regards,

La direction, Olivier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel for the price; right beside the Chateau Frontenac and all of the central Quebec City sites. Room was clean and charming; beds were comfortable, (only criticism was the bathroom was very small); staff were very friendly and helpful; breakfast was offered at a sister B & B, 40 meters away...croissants were excellent! all in all superb value for the price. Would highly recommend. Thank you Fleur de Lys for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

You came 2 years ago at Chateau Fleur de Lys and have appreciated your stay,, but do you know that the hotel has been sold in Winter 2013-2014 and offers now more confort, service and is still considered as a good value.

Don't hesitate to come to see the changes...

Looking forward to welcoming you soon,

La direction, Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Hard to find but once you have, you will be pleased on how central it is, for the price. We are family of 4 in a double room, so a bit tight, but good enough. Breakfast was great, lots to choose from !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, Propriétaire at Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

As new owners (since Dec.2013) we have read carefully you advise dated on Mai 2011.

As most of the hotel's guests you have particularly appreciated our location and have liked the breakfast during you last stay. Let yourself be surprised and come to visit us again you will love the new breakfast, more choice, a better quality and last but not least directly served in the Grand Salon of the hotel since the re-opening (Feb 2014).

During your last stay you found the room a bit tight for 4 persons, for you next stay why not try a Junior Suite, a Family room or The Gouverneur Suite. All these large rooms are adapted for families of 4 or 6 persons

We hope these few words will prompt you to visit us soon,

Looking forward to welcoming you,

Best regards,

La direction, Olivier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL

Also Known As:
Au Chateau Fleur De Lys Hotel Quebec City
Au Chateau Fleur De Lys Hotel
Chateau Fleur De Lys - L'HOTEL Quebec/Quebec City
Address: 15, avenue Sainte-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada (Formerly Chateau Fleur de Lys)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of the Old Quebec city, at the corner of the Governors' garden, facing the Chateau of Frontenac, the Dufferin Terrace and the Saint Lawrence river, the Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL is a Victorian style house from the 19th century. Recently purchased in 2014, the hotel is evolving everyday to offer better comfort to its guests: all rooms have now an all new set of bed linen (4 star hotel standard sheets, quilt and quilt covers) and bathroom towels of high quality, free WIFI, hairdryer, and a up-to-date fire safety system. By summer, all rooms will be equipped with flat screens with cable television (over 40 channels). Thanks to its great location, you can access the most popular attractions by foot in just a few minutes : Quebec Parliament, Quebec Convention Center, Plains of Abraham, the Citadelle. If you are looking for theatrical entertainment, the Capitol Theater and Quebec's Grand Theater are also within walking distance. The hotel is dedicated to travels and guests seeking a key position to visit the city for business or pleasure with the quaintness of a garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.