We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Veau D'Or Enr

Restaurant Le Veau D'Or Enr
801 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R1R2 , Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
(418) 525-7371
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 1,201 Restaurants in Quebec City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good meal at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Rue St Jean is full of restaurants and, it being a Saturday evening, most inside the old city walls were very busy when I visited. However, I found this place just a few dozen metres outside the walls. It was busy without being packed and there was a steady stream of customers all the time I was there. The menu offered plenty of variety and the food was good without being exceptional. My starter - French onion soup with cheese - was almost a meal in itself and was served with a basket of bread rolls, croutons and crackers. The main course - Veal a la Normande - was nothing special: too much sauce and not enough mushrooms for my taste, accompanied by some carrots and peas that looked as if they had been taken from a tin, as well as a couple of scoops of mashed potato and some green salad. However the veal was tender and, overall, the meal gets pass marks as does the restaurant itself.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value just outside the old city walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The restaurant's dinner special includes soup and desert at a great price. The food is very good and ambiance is nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We enjoyed a great meal with wonderful service. The food was delivered hot and good. The service was swift and orderly. We enjoyed the décor and atmosphere of the establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices outside the walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We looked outside the walls for a reasonable restaurant and found it at Le Veau d'Or. Their menu is mostly Italian with good soups and desserts. Service was good. They have a terrace but it was a rainy evening when we went there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to walk down St Jean street in Quebec City looking for a restaurant with reasonable price and variety of choices and found this gem of a place. The patio was clean and comfortable, the service was very good and the food was excellent. The spaghetti with meat sauce was tasty and not cheap with the portion. My husband had the crab stuffed sole and loved his meal. We both had soup, the pea soup was tasty and not too salty which is often the case, the creme of asparagus soup was as well very good. We shared a 1/2 litre of wine and where very surprised that the our meals combined with the wine cost $45. What a difference from other dinners we had which the service, food where not comparable and they cost over $85. A must try in Quebec City.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Veau D'Or Enr also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Le Veau D'Or Enr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Veau D'Or Enr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.