We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quebec City - Le Port-Royal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Port-Royal to your Saves list
Le Port-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quebec City - Le Port-Royal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Le Port-Royal hotel in Old Quebec. This Hotel is situated on the edge of the Old City and close to all the sites and attractions. Hotel staff are very helpful and professional. The rooms nice, where modern design meets classic architecture. Stone, wood and plaster with hardwood floors. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs. The bar is laid back and if you are going in the summer take advantage of the patio. We didn't try the restaurant but it seemed pretty busy. The best part about this hotel is the location. Since you have to walk everywhere to discover the Old City, this Hotel makes for a great pivotal point. In all we had a good time, comfy beds and great service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    179
    49
    27
    10
See reviews for
132
214
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My wife and I spent a night at this hotel after our cruise concluded in Quebec. I chose this hotel based on it's rating and the distance to the dock. As the hotel was located within 200 metres from where the ship was docked we were able to walk of the ship with our luggage and check into the hotel this proved to be a bonus. Not only was the hotel close to where the ship docked I had booked it in advance and obtained an excellent room rate. I would recommend this hotel to anyone it has all the necessary features for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the car park side and found it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just returned from Quebec and we really enjoyed our stay at Le Port-Royal Hotel.

Our room was very large, clean, and comfortable. The lobby is very small so not a place you would want to spend much time.

The staff was very friendly, helpful, and engaging. On numerous occasions they were helpful and inquired if we were enjoying our stay.

A nice hotel with great people working hard to make sure our stay was a pleasant one.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I read all or many of the bad or poor reviews here and it's hard to argue with any of the points made. We had a room on 'Le Pub" side and could hear some thumping of bad bass at night. The thing is for me---I have found most hotels in cities too noisy so I travel with ear plugs. Also---it never bothered my wife. It wasn't overly late, overbearing or defining. I did mention it when I checked out and the desk said they wished I'd informed them. The bathroom wall had a small hole where one of the towel hooks pulled out---not great but not defining. The pull out sofa was not great for sleeping but what I've had to do in all other sleeper-sofa cases is put the mattress on the floor. The only ones that I think can be comfortable are the futon types.

The good stuff...Great staff at all hours was my experience and the rooms were well cleaned. We loved having the kitchen and used it. The AC was quiet---so important.Fantastic location. You could get a different location but not a better one. Also, we ate in Quai 19---the restaurant in the hotel and really enjoyed everything about it. Have I stayed in better hotels?? Hell yeah---but i wasn't picking up the tab! We would recommend it and stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor. Try the 3rd if you think the street might bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

There were 6 of us and we needed 2 rooms that would each sleep 3. It took some calling around to find one that could accommodate us and I was worried about the location until we arrived and realized the location couldn't have been better. We walked there from the train station. It is a couple blocks through the charming cobblestone streets, cafes and shops of the lower old town to reach the funicular and steps to the upper old town with the famous Chateau de Frontenac right at the top and the Citadelle not far away. The rooms are lovely and spacious and traveling with 3 teenage grandchildren made the full kitchen a real cost saver for breakfasts and snacks. There is a gas station mini-mart around the block where you can buy cereal, milk, bread, etc. We had packed light so we took advantage of the washer and dryer in the laundry room on the 2nd floor. The staff were efficient and friendly. Attached to the hotel is a pub with a nice patio for afternoon or evening drinks. It has good food also. On the other side of the hotel is another pricier restaurant that looked nice, although we didn't eat there. It is walking distance to the port for cruises or the ferry to Levis.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We LOVED this hotel. It is on the edge of the historic district and had adjacent parking. Everything we wanted to see was in walking distance.

Our room was charming (thick stone walls) yet still modern, with a full kitchen, a huge TV, and a DVD player. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Free wifi throughout the hotel was huge for us.We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We arrived late due to a rail problem so the room we were put in although nice was located right next to an ice machine in the hallway. The next night they moved us to a suite which was much nicer and no where near the ice machine. Super staff, very tidy, the room could not have been better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#5 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#1 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#8 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#11 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Port-Royal

Address: 144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#20 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining.A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided.In the morning, guests can have breakfast delivered to their room. The contemporary XO Lounge boasts stone walls and plenty of seating.The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Le Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
Le Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Port-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.