We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Port-Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Port-Royal to your Saves list
Le Port-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Loved everything about this hotel. We had a corner room which was very spacious with three windows that actually opened. Fully-equipped kitchen. Keurig coffee machine. Lovely decor. Location is perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    163
    44
    27
    10
See reviews for
121
186
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Visited this hotel last summer and have already booked again for this summer! The location is perfect! Right in the heart of the lower level, and just steps to restaurants, shops, and the upper level. Surprisingly has a self-parking lot right outside which is very convenient (although you will most likely walk everywhere once you are there). The rooms were clean, charming and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recent went to Quebec City over Easter. It was the first time we stayed at this hotel that we heard opened three years ago. We have to say the rooms were great, modern but elegant and clean!. Staff were very friendly. When we arrived, we were given complimentary drinks in the bar next door. Breakfast at Le Quai 19 was also delicious even if a little pricey. Would certainly recommend this hotel especially for its excellent location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel is little but has a lot to offer. It has a parking lot outside the front door (that costs $13 per day), it is located in the middle of old town among lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance of anything you want. We really enjoyed having a mini-kitchenette, a fancy nice radio with CD player, very modern bathroom amenities and the brick wall.

The room was a little small but well-furnished and clean. Wi-Fi available, as well as a flat screen TV. Service could be better in terms of friendliness. Most of the front desk clerks looked fake (fake smiles, and didn't like to speak English very much). However, the location and price were right. We would definitely stay here again if we visit Quebec. The complimentary vodka drink was incredible!

Room Tip: Our room was very nice. However, the view not so great. It was heading the famous gas station... Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a fantastic place and a good value. The room was a suite type, with a kitchenette, although we booked for a regular room, which was just by itself a nice surprise. Clean, cozy, excellent staff, wonderful gourmet breakfast, and also included one drink at their bar (another pleasant treat!). Close to everything, right by the restaurant rows and cute stores in lower Quebec streets, a couple of blocks from a local market, and about two blocks from the cruise. We had a fantastic time and couldn't have wished for a better hotel. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked a romantic getaway here about three weeks before we left Australia. After going budget for the week this was our last night in Quebec city and we were extremely disappointed. The room overlooked a petrol station and the noise of the trucks kept us awake all night. This was after the restaurant where we supposed to have dinner was closed and we had to leave the hotel to eat. The bathroom was not up to standard and although the staff early in the evening sorted the dinner situation the woman on later did not even make eye contact with us when we escaped the room to try to find a bit of quiet- the freezing cold outside was preferable to the constant noise in the room. This was the worst hotel we stayed at in our month in Canada. Seriously don't bother
.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I enjoyed my stay and would return to this hotel.

Pros-good value, beautiful decor, complimentary wine, good location to walk to everything, market nearby, grocery nearby, restaurants nearby, etc.

Cons-the front staff was not very friendly or helpful, my room overlooked gas station

Room Tip: Request a room away from gas station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Port-Royal

Address: 144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining.A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided.In the morning, guests can have breakfast delivered to their room. The contemporary XO Lounge boasts stone walls and plenty of seating.The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Le Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
Le Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Port-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.