We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, friendly staff, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Port-Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Port-Royal to your Saves list
Le Port-Royal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Charlton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Affordable, friendly staff, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I arrived to the hotel at about 7pm. There were parking spaces available right out front. The woman at the front desk gave us 2 tickets for a complimentary cocktail at the hotel bar. They spoke English perfectly and provided us with a map and suggestions on great places to go for a walk. The rooms were plenty spacious and had a kitchenette area complete with a microwave, sink, coffee maker, and a mini-fridge. The bathroom was nice and big as well with nice tile floors.

While all of these things were great, I think the best part of the hotel was its proximity to old Quebec. It's right there. There are fantastic restaurants right next door. The Musee de la Civilisation was a 3 or 4 minute walk away. And the neighborhood is pleasant. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Quebec.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    147
    42
    27
    10
See reviews for
110
162
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Oct 2013. The suite was very modern and loved the kitchen. The suite was also very spacious and the furniture very chic. My husband and I both found the bed to be too soft for our taste.
Our suite had a fireplace and it was cold so we wanted to use it. But since both of us didnt have any experience with using a fireplace we asked customer service to guide us. They handed us a packed piece of fireplace wood and told us to follow the instructions on it. We were very disappointed with this. What if we burned the place down?
The hotel was also very close to the old city which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I often stay in hotel on that street (st -Pierre )
This is the worse I have tried
Humid and unpleasant ambiance in the room.
The lobby is one I would expect
In some poor country with no furniture.
I got mislead by the photo of the entry on their site... Too bad for me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The place is very conveniently located. It has a parking space. The suite that we were in had enough room for 4 of us (two couples of friends) and the full kitchen was just great. Service is very good too.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our party of 4 had 2 rooms for 3 day/2 nights at this charming hotel. We were all very pleased with the accommodations; kitchenette, comfy beds, bar with terrace downstairs, and perfect proximity to old Quebec as well as the farmer's market on the waterfront. Cirque de Soleil performs just a block away (we were told the shows are free) during the summer 'til the end of September. We missed that. Walked to the funicular to go up and hop on the tour bus, as well as wander around the Chateau Frontenac and the boardwalk. Also walked to the Musee de Civilisation, which happened to have an exhibit on the evolution of video games, many of which were set up for visitors to play - fun! Another was an exhibit on late 19th century Paris (the "Belle Epoche") which we also enjoyed. Parking at the hotel is also reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful, and everyone was very accommodating in speaking English when our pidgin French was inadequate. Could have spent a couple more days!

Restaurants nearby that we enjoyed: Le Cochon Dingue (they serve breakfast and have the best hot chocolate and café au lait. There is also a bakery next door, Le Petit Cochon Dingue), Café du Monde (French fare on the water - get the fries fried in duck fat), La Nouvelle France

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Since we were about to board a cruise ship, we chose this hotel only a block from the cruise port. Did not expect all the other perks. The location could not have been better for sight seeing. Large room with a kitchenette. Clean, pleasant staff. Internet.
LOVED IT. Restaurant adjacent was expensive and nothing to write home about. But there are many others nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location just below vieux ville, huge rooms, some with kitchens and separate bedrooms. Very friendly staff and onsite parking for reasonable rates (a must in this neighborhood). Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Port-Royal

Address: 144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Port-Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining.A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided.In the morning, guests can have breakfast delivered to their room. The contemporary XO Lounge boasts stone walls and plenty of seating.The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
Le Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Port-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.