We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, OK room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Port-Royal

Save Saved
You added Le Port-Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Port-Royal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 97 hotels in Quebec City
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great location, OK room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a Superior Room.

The location of the hotel is wonderful, right in the middle of the Old City, a walking distance from everything. Parking was a bit tricky, but we got there during a cycling event where pretty much all the neighborhood was closed, so it was to be expected. We were able to walk around the city and visit a lot, never needing our car. So that's a big plus.

On the downside, we were a little disappointed with the room... We booked a Superior Room, but it didn't feel "superior"... We felt like we were staying in a mid-improvements room. They placed nice furniture around, but everything else felt... raw. There were holes in the walls from previous brackets that were not filled, patches of cement in some places, scratched paint on the wall from moved furniture, etc. It actually had the feeling of an old apartment converted into a hotel room, but without work to make it feel refreshed. Like they said "let's keep it as is and call it modern". It was comfortable, but didn't feel like a superior room in the least.

And if you're easily bothered by noise, exposed piping all around means no noise isolation whatsoever... It wasn't a big problem for us, but it's worth knowing. We had a lot of fun explaining the screaming in the next bedroom to our 2yo...

Overall, it's a great location, kitchen and separate bedroom are nice to have, especially with kids, but the place needs a serious refresh... It felt shabby, despite the higher-end furniture.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    115
    36
    26
    10
See reviews for
94
120
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I arrived at 6 am to check in at this well-positioned Quebec hotel. I was coming in on the overnight train service from Halifax NS and I did warn them! It took 4 hours to get a room. I cannot blame the reception staff for that, though the reservations staff could offer the option to book a room for early arrival and pay extra.

Putting that aside, the staff were very friendly and eager to give directions. The room itself was enormous, with a kitchenette and king bed. It was very dark in the room. Close inspection showed that everything was clean but needed a paint job. The seal around the bath was pretty shabby and the bathroom needed a bit of paint. Overall nothing to complain about, but time to refresh.

One note: i did ask the concierge about a restaurant about 200m from the hotel and he had not heard of it! I am glad I persisted as the food was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's getting pretty hard to fit two adults and two teens (15,12) in one room. The Port Royal offered a large room with a queen bed, a sofa bed and a rollaway at a reasonable price, which is why we chose it. But we got a lot more than that. The hotel is located in the old city; walking distance from the port and the farmers market in one direction, and the tourist attractions and funiculaire to the other direction. The good news is that it is just far enough from the bustling noisiness of the shops and businesses. The Port Royal is conveniently situated right next to Rue. St. Paul and its great cafes and restaurants. The hotel restaurant itself offers a basic (by Quebec high standards) breakfast buffet; but that can be a bit pricey.
The bilingual staff at the hotel is amiable and helpful at all times of day. We got to the hotel around midnight, and our room was waiting for us, with the extra cot quickly brought in. The staff will also provide you with umbrellas, if necessary, and driving directions, if you're going out on excursions.
Don't expect a great view and it is not the quietest hotel. It's located close to a main road, and there was a band playing there over the weekend, which a got a bit loud. Nevertheless, we loved this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had reserved our room for 3 nights, but by the 3rd night my husband didn't want to leave! So we extended our stay. All the staff from the front door bell boy to the bar tender at least pub - were pleasant. Extremely helpful and resourceful!
Oh! And the view from our room of the surrounding city wall, along with the view of main corner with restaurants and statute, was lovely to people watch.

Room Tip: 3rd level, facing rue st Pierre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family enjoyed this hotel. It is close to the port, clean, spacious and quite comfortable. In all service was good - I think the maids were a little overwhelmed. The hike up the hill to the old city is enjoyable, but steep. The only "off" thing about the room is that the air conditioner didn't work well and it was noisy, I mean seriously noisy. It kept us up off and on for the two nights we stayed at the hotel. Despite the racket I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the east side of the hotel that would be a little easier on the air conditio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came for the annual New France festival - Les Fêtes de la Nouvelle-France and could not have chosen a better location. The ship which brought the Filles du Roi (daughters of the king) to New France disembarked the 36 girls dressed in period costume only a couple of hundred feet from our hotel. (Alas we missed it because we did not research it in advance and failed to understand the volunteer’s French.) The Cirque du Soleil performs a couple of short blocks away. It appears to be the closest to the shore of local hotels.

INTERIOR: Totally renovated within the confines of its original shape, finding your room can be an adventure in itself each time you return. Tons of atmosphere. Dishes, fridge, microwave, double hotplate (!!!), dining table, and chairs plus easy chairs. Dining on the premises. As well as an outdoor pub.

PARKING: The parking lot was tricky to find – if you miss it, with traffic it can take 15 minutes to get back (and I know this because …) Once you park your car – or they park it for you – you are strolling distance to all the significant places in the Old Town of Quebec.

Positives: the staff was wonderful!

Negatives:
1. Housekeeping did not arrive until after we called and then came too late in the day so we sent them away.
2. There was a technical issue – the tub would not empty – we did not report it until at departure so can’t say what repairs are like. This was a mistake because we were unable to shower in the cold water next morning. Oh well.
3. The 40" wall mounted TV was a smaller unit on a table - there actually isn't any wall space for a tv that size in that particular room. No big deal to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the character & were not disappointed. We had a Deluxe Suite Plus in the back corner with beautiful old-fashioned wood windows & exposed stone & brick walls all around. As nice as the setting was, we were surprised that the bathroom & kitchen (& most of the furniture) were very standard & cheap looking. The mattress on the sofa bed was terrible! The coffee & toiletries were also bottom of the line. You would find nicer in most hotel chains. The interior walls are thin... my family was quietly sitting around one afternoon & suddenly you could hear a bed repeatedly squeaking next door...AWKWARD! ...We were still impressed overall though, because of the architectural features & the perfect location!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Port-Royal

Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
Hotel Port-Royal
Hotel Port Royal
Le Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City
Address: 144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Port-Royal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Le Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Port-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.