We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Port-Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Port-Royal to your Saves list
Le Port-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Maintenance needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for five days off season. Coming from CT, we checked in late. The service desk provided us with a cart and we wheeled our luggage into the room. The first room was spacious but we soon found out it was muggy, the sink did not drain, and the fridge was broken (it was generating heat, really).

We addressed the issue the next night (the fridge was the last straw) with the front desk and were quickly accommodated. They switched us into another room that was beautiful--except the door did not work properly. You had to make sure it was pulled tightly into its sweet spot which required extra force. Lastly, the deadbolt did not work. The man, Guy, that helped us was extremely helpful and kind--he came back to address the door and told us no one would be able to force it open even without the deadbolt and he even brought us ice water from the bar.

However, not everyone was kind. Some of the front desk staff can be quite cold while other employees were warm. Housekeeping will always say hi and smile. They also promptly changed our sheets when requested.

When you come in they give you a free drink ticket for the bar next door. It's for a specific cocktail --which is fine. However, both bartenders were rude. We wanted a certain drink and were fine paying for it but they weren't friendly. They didn't acknowledge us or had any awareness of the liquors they stocked (we asked what whiskeys they carried and were promptly told just to read the menu--there were only three people at the bar other than us).

Across the hall you will find Le 48 which is a gem! It's not your usual hotel restaurant where the food is over priced and average tasting. You get innovative dishes for a reasonable price and everyone on staff is spectacular! We tried breakfast, lunch, and dinner on different days and were never disappointed. The service is always five star even if there's a line out the door.

The hotel is located in a wonderful spot. You can walk out the door and the port is your backyard. Parking is outdoors and we would imagine it being difficult during peak season since the lot is limited. $15 a day parking really is a steal for peace of mind. Laurie Raphael is an amazing dining experience and it's right across the street.

We rated this place average because we loved the location and the restaurant. The rooms are cozy and offer a kitchen with pots and pans. However, half the staff can be rude and the rooms really need maintenance before the season begins. For folks that are sensitive to the smell of gasoline there is a gas station next door. The smell rushes in if you open the window, nothing you can do, just close the window. The walls are also thin.

We made some friends and are planning a trip back in August/Sept. Before the stay, we thought it was steal when we found it online for $130 a night. After our stay, we're convinced we overpaid.

Not sure if we would stay here again or recommend it unless the hotel price drops.

Room Tip: Third floor is sunny and you don't need to worry about footsteps. Second floor is dim and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    150
    42
    27
    10
See reviews for
113
166
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Everything was magnificent, except 3 things. English is very limited , construction in the room next door at literally 6:30 Am, laying hardwood. And the last but not least, the floors are very squeaky even the bed. Don't be surprised to hear your neighbor walk around or get intimate, the walls are not thick at all.

Only downfalls though, the 2 dining locations on site are wonderful for breakfast lunch dinner. You can beat price for location. I'd go back in a second regardless of the negatives!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed a couple days here and we were very satisfied with the experience. The parking lot outside is relatively small, though there were a few open spots. The front desk was friendly and accommodating to our limited French and even spoke to us in English which was very helpful.

Our room was on the First Floor, which is actually the second floor and overlooked the neighboring gas station and mini-mart. But as a hotel in the city what can you expect? The room was very well equipped and even came with a little kitchenette area (fridge, stovetop, sink). The decor was relatively new and the brick/stone wall added some unique character to the room. Space was tight, but given the size and location of the hotel, that's what I would have expected.

The road noise was a bit loud, and there was a little bit of a repetitive clicking noise through the night (not sure what from), but for the price we paid, this Hotel was a great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends and I wasn't disappointed. Its located near the port and The Rue St. Paul, which is a charming shopping street. Very nice staff and varied hotel rooms. The restaurant in the hotel is worth checking out.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very different so the choice of room can make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Where to begin? At the beginning, I suppose.

When we arrived at our room, it was not at all how it looked on the website. It was small and dark and the exposed pipes made my young son nervous (I think he was expecting spiders to be dropping off them, or something).

One of the lights did not work. The sofa bed had food remnants (nuts) in it. When we moved a notepad on the desk, we discovered that the desk was damaged. I went to reception and told them and then when I went back upstairs, I moved the phone to put a bag there and discovered another hole. There were also hairs on the bathroom floor and the utensils in the kitchen were a bit dirty.

The next morning, we left the "do not change sheets" card on the bed, but on the second and third mornings we did not. The sheets were still not changed. The room was also a bit noisy, as we could often hear people above and beside us making noise.

I can't say it as terrible, but it was certainly not good, either and it definitely did not match the impression we got from the website. From the other comments posted here, I am left thinking that there is a tremendous difference in the quality of the various rooms.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We rented a suite and did not regret one second!
Everything is perfect.
Clean, well located in petit champlain sector. wi fi is free but costs for parking.
I loved the view, we could see chateau frontenac . best location in an historical building. The fireplace was absolutely wonderful. We would return to this hotel anytime! Bell person and reception people very nice.Overall great service! Congradulation

Room Tip: suites are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is very well located, close to everything.
The room was spacious, simply but elegantly decorated.
Everything is there to accommodate customers.
The staff is very welcoming and polite.
We shopped on Expedia and got our hands on a deal and came across this wonderful little hotel.
A little trick we laughed, we did not know where the switches to turn on the lights in the room, it took us some time to find them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Port-Royal

Address: 144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#15 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining.A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided.In the morning, guests can have breakfast delivered to their room. The contemporary XO Lounge boasts stone walls and plenty of seating.The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
Le Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Port-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.