We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little hotel in a wonderful city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Port-Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Port-Royal to your Saves list
Le Port-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice little hotel in a wonderful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends and I wasn't disappointed. Its located near the port and The Rue St. Paul, which is a charming shopping street. Very nice staff and varied hotel rooms. The restaurant in the hotel is worth checking out.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very different so the choice of room can make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    167
    44
    27
    10
See reviews for
123
191
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Where to begin? At the beginning, I suppose.

When we arrived at our room, it was not at all how it looked on the website. It was small and dark and the exposed pipes made my young son nervous (I think he was expecting spiders to be dropping off them, or something).

One of the lights did not work. The sofa bed had food remnants (nuts) in it. When we moved a notepad on the desk, we discovered that the desk was damaged. I went to reception and told them and then when I went back upstairs, I moved the phone to put a bag there and discovered another hole. There were also hairs on the bathroom floor and the utensils in the kitchen were a bit dirty.

The next morning, we left the "do not change sheets" card on the bed, but on the second and third mornings we did not. The sheets were still not changed. The room was also a bit noisy, as we could often hear people above and beside us making noise.

I can't say it as terrible, but it was certainly not good, either and it definitely did not match the impression we got from the website. From the other comments posted here, I am left thinking that there is a tremendous difference in the quality of the various rooms.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We rented a suite and did not regret one second!
Everything is perfect.
Clean, well located in petit champlain sector. wi fi is free but costs for parking.
I loved the view, we could see chateau frontenac . best location in an historical building. The fireplace was absolutely wonderful. We would return to this hotel anytime! Bell person and reception people very nice.Overall great service! Congradulation

Room Tip: suites are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is very well located, close to everything.
The room was spacious, simply but elegantly decorated.
Everything is there to accommodate customers.
The staff is very welcoming and polite.
We shopped on Expedia and got our hands on a deal and came across this wonderful little hotel.
A little trick we laughed, we did not know where the switches to turn on the lights in the room, it took us some time to find them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Location is great, but...
I speak fluent French, my wife is French Canadian from Quebec City, so, there was no issue with communication. The front desk staff is somewhat aloof (not all of them, but enough of them to be slightly annoying). The walls in the rooms are paper thin, we could easily hear the people next door and certainly the people above us. I don't think they were walking heavily, but, they certainly made a lot of noise at 2am, especially rolling the desk chair back and forth (likely sitting at the desk using a computer). OK, that's allowed, I do it, I just don't want to hear my neighbours.

Like many hotels, they have a sheet change card. Leave it on the bed...don't change the sheets, not in view...change the sheets. On several occasions, the sheets were NOT changed. I asked at the front desk and the desk clerk didn't know about the card and looked at me as if I was strange. Nevertheless, that night the sheets were changed since I had insisted. Our room was nice, large, small kitchen with hot plate, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, (functional and allowed us to have breakfast in the room and cook a few meals. The view is overlooking the parking lot (the other option is overlooking the gas station)...but...sitting on the sofa, looking out at the neighbouring old buildings as it snowed was lovely. View straight down to the parking lot is what it is. On check out we were seriously overloaded (we drove there and besides shopping, were bringing things home from my wife's mom), so, the hotel cart was a bit hard to manage. Pushed it past the front desk towards the door. Two staff at the desk and no one offered to help me get it out the door or hold the doors open. This was at 7 am, the lobby was empty. Little things but annoying. Can't comment on the restaurant, didn't try it. Might stay here again, might not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I loved this boutique, quaint hotel in Old Quebec.. This boutique gem has an amazing restaurant, excellent service, a wonderful gym. The best part was our room. We come from the New York City area and have stayed in some beautiful unique places. Our room at Le Port Royal was Euro-Urban Chic all the way.. We absolutely loved it.. Best part, CLASSICAL MUSIC WAS PLAYING FROM THE SOUND SYSTEM WHEN WE CHECKED IN...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Rooms are modern, clean, comfy. Bit or road noise, but manageable. Staff was very good. Had a broken door spring which they fixed right away. The restaurant is very good as well, we only did breakfast,mbut it was excellent for taste, quality, and value. I would stay again, just remember, it is at the bottom of the hill, so if you are heading up then you will get your excercise as it is a climb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Port-Royal

Address: 144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#26 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining.A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided.In the morning, guests can have breakfast delivered to their room. The contemporary XO Lounge boasts stone walls and plenty of seating.The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
Le Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Port-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.