We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Urban Chic Class All The Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Port-Royal

Save Saved
You added Le Port-Royal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Port-Royal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 102 hotels in Quebec City
Lyndhurst, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Canadian Urban Chic Class All The Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I loved this boutique, quaint hotel in Old Quebec.. This boutique gem has an amazing restaurant, excellent service, a wonderful gym. The best part was our room. We come from the New York City area and have stayed in some beautiful unique places. Our room at Le Port Royal was Euro-Urban Chic all the way.. We absolutely loved it.. Best part, CLASSICAL MUSIC WAS PLAYING FROM THE SOUND SYSTEM WHEN WE CHECKED IN...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    126
    38
    27
    11
See reviews for
96
135
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Rooms are modern, clean, comfy. Bit or road noise, but manageable. Staff was very good. Had a broken door spring which they fixed right away. The restaurant is very good as well, we only did breakfast,mbut it was excellent for taste, quality, and value. I would stay again, just remember, it is at the bottom of the hill, so if you are heading up then you will get your excercise as it is a climb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel was great - had what we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Quebec City. We were a family of four, mom, dad, two children aged 7 and 4. My only recommendations to others would be to ask for a room AWAY from the service station and ask for a corner room. The other reviews I read on trip advisor were spot-on. The gas station nearby is the closest place for bread, milk, butter, etc. The location was good. The housekeeping could have been better - when we moved furniture we found some dustbunnies etc that indicated the furniture had not been moved in a while. The staff could have been friendlier - for example, we wanted to book a cab to go to the Hotel de Glace (Ice Hotel) and the front desk attendant said it was an hour away and was dismissive with us. In fact, it was a 10 minute cab ride away at the site of the former Quebec City zoo. I don't want to turn you away from this hotel, however your experience would be better if you heed the advice :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel, facing the courtyard ( not the Petro-Canada service station) Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed on many hotels around the world and this is the nicest I have ever been in. It was absolutely gorgeous. Our room was huge and the bed was so comfortable. The location is perfect and within a 5 minute walk to everything. For $200 a night I was so impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Don't take the gastronomic package "couette gourmande", with the Laurie Raphael Restaurant, you finally pay more than if you would you would have gone separately, and they make you work to get the difference back. The bill or not clear,in the kitchenette there is practically noting to cook in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was an excellent experience! The hotel is located in the heart of Vieux-Quebec with easy access to all the main sights. Its rooms are spacious, very nicely decorated, and have tons of amenities. We had to change the first room because of a problem with the sofa-bed and the staff, while not exceptionally warm, was professional and accommodating. I would definitely stay again at Le Port-Royal!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here to experience a white Christmas with our 5 year old son.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom executive suite which was plently big enough for the 3 of us. Having a laundry in our room made life very easy. Although we had a fully equipped kitchen, other than a few glasses and the fridge we didn't use it. There was no need as there were ample restaurants within walking distance. The attached Le48 provided good breakfast, but we did not eat any other meals there. If I had to pick a fault with the room it would be in the master bedroom; it was such a tight squeeze between the end of the bed and the wall where the tv is, that my husband had to walk through very slowly and sideways.
One thing to note for those staying during the winter months, the snow ploughs are very noisy and do disturb your sleep. As our room was next to the service station our son was woken every day by the noise from there, not so good.
Location wise we think this place was good. We throughly enjoyed the 5-10 minute walk into the walled city. There is a bus stop right across the road, the ecolobus also stops here which is great to catch into the walled city if you don't feel like walking or just catch it to get your bearings when you first arrive. It's only about $2 per adult. As mentioned earlier, there are plently of restaurants close by so there is no need to cook unless you really want to.
So, would be stay here again, Yes but we would ask for a room away from the service station so we could sleep in!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the service station if noise bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Port-Royal

Address: 144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Port-Royal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining.A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided.In the morning, guests can have breakfast delivered to their room. The contemporary XO Lounge boasts stone walls and plenty of seating.The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Le Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
Le Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Port-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.