We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky studio in Quebec City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Port-Royal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Port-Royal to your Saves list
Le Port-Royal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Funky studio in Quebec City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here a few weeks ago for 2 nights and booked directly with the hotel. The lobby is pretty small, but the rooms are fabulous. We had a room on the 2nd floor, it has a massive bed, exposed brick walls and the original windows and hardware were still entact to give it that authentic feeling.

The bathroom was massive and had a great deep bath along with more than enough towels etc. The kitchenette that comes with the room is usefull as well, the only thing we were confused by was trying to find the dishwashing liquid and cloth to wash up our glasses, but we did notice it after the fact. So all you need is there, cutlery, glasses, plates etc.

This is not some crappy apartment, it was nicer than most people's condos quite honestly. The day staff where pretty helpful and the restaurant on the main level called Le 48 had amazing food and not any pricier than the surrounding restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    163
    44
    27
    10
See reviews for
121
186
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Le Port-Royal is a condominium/hotel. Accommodations include ample living-dinette-office space, kitchenette, separate bedroom, and bath. Located a stone's throw from first-class Lower Town restaurants -- Le 48 St-Paul, SSS, L'Echaude, Toast!, Laurie Raphael, Initiale, Bistro du Cap -- you get the idea. A 5-minute walk to Lower Town essentials -- Petit Champlain, Place Royale, Notre-Dame-des-Victoires, the funicular, Museum of Civilization -- and a 15-minute walk to Upper Town sites.

Room Tip: Select room opening onto Rue St-Pierre or St-Paul to minimize traffic noise from Rue Dalhousie and Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel is in the Old Port sector and is well located to see all of the old city and attractions. It is within walking distance of the station and with the fixed price option on taxis to the airport not badly placed in this regard.
We had a small room and it was very good but a little cramped. The other rooms are much better and we know from friends who recommended it that the suites are very good. Despite the smallness of the room there was enough space to move freely about and to enjoy our "le bonheure" in the room.
The restaurant next door is very good although on our first morning for breakfast we had to wait a while (it was a holiday weekend). The food was very good and the eggs cooked perfectly.
Service was excellent. We needed to print some documents and fax material back to Australia and the hotel accommodated this need extremely well. When we asked about getting help there was no hesitation to accept a role in support.
We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I am presently staying at the Hotel Port-Royal Suites and am enjoying myself immensely. I'm travelling on my own, so have a smaller unit in the building - 3rd floor corner looks out over the square - view of water feature, restaurants, etc. is excellent! Bed is comfortable, all amenities are included in the little kitchenette for wining and dining, so if you don't feel like eating out, make yourself at home right here! Full-size microwave, glass cook-top 2-burner, coffee (tea?!!) maker, dishes and all - have a gourmet meal in your room and put your feet up!
Housekeeping staff is good, but not excellent - most importantly, it's a nice, quiet location away from the bustling crowds - great for a good night's sleep. I highly recommend it! Good value for your $$$! Bon soir!

Room Tip: 3rd floor (top) is great - quiet - view from the end unit (308B) - big enough for 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just left this hotel after a two-night stay. The hotel is very nice with multiple restaurants located on sight. We had breakfast each morning at the restaurant closest to the lobby: excellent coffee and good food with reasonable (for Quebec city) prices. Our room [208a] was very large with a nice size kitchen, a desk area, a dining room table, and a king size bed. We truly enjoyed the clean very modern conveniences. The only negative is that the bathroom was a little small with the toilet in an awkward position. Nonetheless, I would rate this place great with at least a 4 out of 5 rating. Most importantly, it is one of the few affordable nice hotels in the old town. Granted, the location is in the lower part of old town next to the cruise port.

Room Tip: No supermarket nearby. If arriving by car, shop before you arrive. Also, prices are outrageous in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in a fantastic 2 bedroom suite on the 3rd floor. The decor reminded me of apartments in Paris. There was a full kitchen, dining area, living room with fireplace, 2 bedrooms, nice sized bathroom and a washer & dryer. The beds were so comfortable. It was a welcome respite in the middle of our East Coast Road Trip. The best of all is the location. We were walking distance to everything including the Old City and cute restaurants and Bistros. The staff was extremely helpful when we arrived. I had accidentally booked the hotel for the wrong date and they quickly found a was to accommodate us and get us settled after a long drive. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gottsled
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Beautiful suite. Nice size sitting room with very well stocked kitchenette. Comfortable bed. Can't beat the location. We'll definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Port-Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Port-Royal

Address: 144 Rue St-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 8N8, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#27 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Port-Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Old Quebec hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Notre Dame de Quebec Cathedral and 2 blocks from the Museum of Civilization. It features on-site dining.A full kitchen with oven, stovetop, and refrigerator is part of each suite at Hotel Port-Royal. The living area is furnished with a sofa and cable TV. Free Wi-Fi is provided.In the morning, guests can have breakfast delivered to their room. The contemporary XO Lounge boasts stone walls and plenty of seating.The Citadelle of Quebec is within a 15-minute walk of the Port-Royal Hotel. The shore of the Saint Lawrence River is only 1 block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking and Priceline so you can book your Le Port-Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port-Royal Quebec City
Le Port-Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Port-Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.