We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful New Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3145 Avenues Des Hotels, Quebec City, Quebec G1W 3Z7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #24 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful New Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Helpful Staff, enthusiastic and friendly at front desk and in breakfast room. Nice exercise room, large spa/pool. Hardwood floors in all rooms. Suite had king bed and Murphy fold-down double in living room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    131
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
130
109
28
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for two nights with our two 4-year-old kids. Everything in the hotel was new; room was clean, a good size (two queen size beds) and modern. I especially liked the hardwood floor (instead of dingy carpeting) and the clean bathroom. A small refridgerator is in the bathroom under the sink counter; which is easy to miss. About 10-15 min scenic drive along the St. Lawrence River to get to Old Quebec, and literally a minute drive away from the new Aquarium (good for kids). Free hot breakfast was good: hot eggs, bacon, sausages, pancakes, yogurt, cereal, fruits, cinnamon roll, chocolate or strawberry mini-muffins, juices and more (nice to be able to take along hot coffee for the road too). Free Wi-fi I was able to connect to via my iPhone.

Although its location is not in Old Quebec, we just parked at the cruise docking parking lot right across from the Museum of Civilization for $17 for the whole day, and once found metered parking on the street in that area too. Hotel is right off a major highway which is very convenient (but no noise issue at all).

The front desk service was very friendly and helpful. Make sure not to order in from Boston Pizza (took forever for them to take a basic order over the phone), and they never showed up even after 1.5 hours so we ended up canceling since it was almost 10pm by then.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

we spend two nights in this hotel. with our friends and eiught children between the age of 10 and 18. staff was very friendly, even though our children were luod and they played chess in the lobby around 3 am in the morning. the pool was outdoor and very small, the rooms were clean. But the breakfast they served was great.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Good value hote. Nice breakfast. Nice pool. I didn't like the harwood floors, dangerous when they got wet as we came in from the pool. Room not spacious enought to have with kids. Would have been better if the bed in the living room was the sofa and not a murphy bed as the murphy bed took up the whole living space and you can't get to the door from the master suite if the bed is down. Bathroom had no bathtub!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

This review is written by a business travel who frequents Marriott and Hilton brand hotels throughout the world (primarily in the US). This review is based on a one-night stay in May 2010.

I won't repeat all of the positive things the previous reviewers have indicated but I will point out some highlights:

Pros:
- New hotel (so new decor, linens, etc.).
- Great styling and size for bathroom.
- Laminate wood floors in rooms (which promotes ease of seeing cleanliness).
- Great service / staff.
- For those of you visiting Quebec / Quebec City for the first time, yes, the staff can speak French and English.
- Great low price.
- Very close proximity to Quebec City and everything on Rue Laurier.

Opportunities for improvement:
- Relatively small room compared to others in this class of hotel (e.g. chair at desk back onto bed immediately with little space to manoeuvre behind or otherwise).
- Laminate wood floors in room (only a negative if you like to walk barefoot on what is traditionally carpet in hotel rooms).
- Very small outdoor swimming pool (only a negative if you swim laps daily for exercise).

With its combination of styling, service, price, and location, I would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to friends and family (despite being a top-status member of Marriott and Hilton's rewards programs).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Compared to other 5 star hotels this one tops them for accomodation and service excellence. It may not have valet service, but it includes a breakfast equivalent to some 20Euro breakfasts in Europe with regular fresh refills. It is definitely not a normal Express Holiday Inn. The fact that they offered fluffy eggs, bacon, sausage is over and above other Express Holiday Inns. Front desk was very cordial and funny. We came during Easter to visit some of our relatives. Access to the city is good, because it is close to the Hwy (73=>40) that leads directly downtown. Access to internet is in a special internet area, with easy email ability at no cost. Various excellent restaurants are nearby. Compared to prices at key hotels in the downtown core, you save yourself money and get excellent service at the same time. Only minutes to downtown sites.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXPRESSQC, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for your great review! We are very happy you had a pleasant stay with us and cannot wait to have you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Very comfortable and clean. Great location and I love the wood floors in the rooms.
The only thing I find strange is the fridge is located in the bathroom.. To me there is something terribly wrong with putting your food in the bathroom. (it is in a cupboard under the sink)
I still would highly recommend this place and I always like to have a fridge and microwave in my room. This did not have a microwave but there is access to one in the breakfast area.
When in Quebec City I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy)

Address: 3145 Avenues Des Hotels, Quebec City, Quebec G1W 3Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sainte Foy Hotel Near Quebec City Attractions and Businesses Modern style and friendly service unite in this Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Sainte Foy in Quebec City, conveniently located 10 km from Aeroport Jean Lesage (YQB) and .5 km from the Gare de Ste Foy train station. Exciting attractions, such as Aquarium de Quebec and Musee National des Beaux Arts du Quebec, are only a short drive from our hotel in Sainte Foy. You can explore Quebec City's history and visit the historic Pont de Quebec (Quebec Bridge) a few kilometers from our accommodations near Quebec City, or relax on the beaches of the St. Lawrence river at Parc de la Plage Jacques-Cartier. Business travelers will love our hotel's proximity to area businesses like Ernst & Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Olympus NDT Canada, Laval University and Chul Hospital. Quebec City Convention Centre is a short drive from our Sainte Foy hotel. While lodging in Quebec City, you can utilize our meeting room, free, high-speed, wireless Internet access and 24-hour business centre. Our well-appointed accommodations near Quebec City go beyond other Quebec City hotels to offer you premium amenities, such as a complimentary hot breakfast that is served daily. Relax in the whirlpool and workout in the fitness centre each day after a good night's rest in a triple-sheeted bed. Call today to make your reservation at this state-of-the-art Sainte Foy hotel near Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy) Hotel Quebec City
Quebec City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Quebec City (Sainte-Foy), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.