We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Cochon Dingue

Le Petit Cochon Dingue
24 Bd Champlain, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4H7, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)
418-694-0303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,141 restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown Quebec City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stopped in for a couple treats for the drive home. Got the 12 pack of kini cupcakes and a muffin. The cupcakes are the most delicious I've ever had anywhere anytime. Would definitely recommend and would definitely return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    144
    100
    21
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A fantastic place for a family lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We tried first to get in there on a Sunday, but the queue was too long and we gave up to come back next day. When we finally got in, it was well worth the effort to return. A beautiful, small restaurant setting, plenty of food choices for the adults and the kids, plus the service was excellent.

The menu can be a little overwhelming, as there is so much to choose from, but I had the set menu of the day, so did the kids and for the reasonable prices, both choice and quality of the food were really good. When you pay around CAD 6.00 for a 3 course kids menu and around CAD 18.00 for a 2 course adult menu you cannot complain at all. On top of that the waitress was very helpful, friendly and despite the restaurant being packed, she always came back in between to check on us.

When in Quebec, go there and try to get a seat. Even queuing up is worth it, but when you come either well before 12pm for lunch or after 1pm then you should be fine getting a table. We will most certainly return when in Quebec again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We sat at a table outside for lunch after a long bike ride to the waterfall. The service was good, but the food was better. I had a duck salad and it was the best of the trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A solid and inexpensive choice in lower town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A limited menu of sandwiches, salads, quiche and pizza-like things plus desserts, this smaller version of the Quebec mini-chain is a welcome sight after walking around in the summer heat. My wife had bruschetta while I had the roast beef sandwich and both of us were satisfied with our meal.

It's not food with a flourish, but is fresh and tasty and if you are looking for a small meal that won't leave a gaping hole in your food budget, home in on this spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely spot in Old Quebec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a casual dining place. There is seating upstairs and a nice outdoor patio area as well.
You bring out yr own food, so it was more like a cafeteria style and worked very well. I had lunch here which was a toasted bread with salmon sandwich and it was delicious. Prices were reasonable and the desserts looked yummy but I was so full from my lunch that I didn't have any dessert. I have no complaints at all and would definitely return here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Cochon Dingue also viewed

Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Le Petit Cochon Dingue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Cochon Dingue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.