We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conti Caffe

Conti Caffe
32 rue Saint-Louis, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Y9, Canada
418-692-4191
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Conti Caffe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 1,201 Restaurants in Quebec City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Ferndown, Dorset
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Fun little cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The cafe was full to overflowing and we were lucky to get a table. It is not a place to sit and savour your food. It was very noisy and conversation was difficult because of all the hubbub but good fun and we had an enjoyable meal. I had the spaghetti carbonara with a glass of prosecco and my husband the risotto with a beer. We only wanted a light meal so skipped dessert. We would have liked another drink but unfortunately the servers were few and far between. Feeling hot and sticky, because it was a sultry night and the tables were crammed together with only fans to cool, we decided to search out a bar with air conditioning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    103
    29
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful little bar and Caffe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went her every night, the owner is great, drinks are stiff and yummy food to as well. Great atmosphere. But like many places in this town they don't turn on or have air conditioning! Not sure, why, but they always keep the windows open so you are dripping in sweat in the humidity, but it seems this is the way at every place you go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good French cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had dinner here with our pre-teen children. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and the food and service were excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great intro to Quebec cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We asked a store owner in the Chateau where we should eat and without hesitation she recommended Conti as the place to sample French cuisine. Well appointed, excellent service and wonderful food. The filet mignon with gorganzola was perfect!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Wine, Great Food and Beautiful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

No complaints! Went here to celebrate our 5 yr wedding anniversary and we were very pleased!

We started out with their appetizer special, Lobster Carpaccio (this was more like a lobster caprese salad). It was awesome! We both love lobster and this was a great unique combination for an app, very tasty.

For our main courses, my wife ordered the Scallops and Shrimp (with grilled pineapple salsa and pesto rosso limoncello) which was presented on a slate plate, beautiful. She loved it and it was delicious, simple but yet refined. I ordered the Linguine with Lobster, olive oil, white wine and a couple other ingredients. It was a wonderful pasta dish, LOTS of lobster meat!

We both ordered dessert this night, I ordered the Chocolate Praline Mousse Cake and my wife ordered the Chocolate Mousse Cake. Both were excellent chocolate desserts! My wife and I are both chocolate lovers, so for both of us to say their desserts were excellent means a lot!

Thanks for a great anniversary dinner Conti!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conti Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Conti Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conti Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.