We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innocents abroad: run away!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of L'Intendant Couette & Cafe

L'Intendant Couette & Cafe
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added L'Intendant Couette & Cafe to your Saves list
L'Intendant Couette & Cafe
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Des-Vaisseaux-Du-Roi, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6T5, Canada (Downtown Quebec City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 124 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Kitchener
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Innocents abroad: run away!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It is hard to believe any of the positive ratings on this site. The proprietor and the establishment are to be avoided at all costs. Our experience was as follows. Arriving late at night after a tiring day of travel we were herded into a run down bar and subjected to a 45 minute diatribe about what to see and not see in Quebec City (this is really not necessary and I suspect this was a diversion of some sort). Prepayment for our 3 day booking was demanded in advance and we were shown to the suite. We were stunned. He asked if things were OK and we were anxious to be rid of his overbearing presence so we acquiesced. Inspection of the suite revealed a bathroom floor with curling linoleum, furniture not fit for a garage sale and a pervasive odour suggestive of pest treatments. We proceed back to the front desk to cancel our second and third night stay (it was too late to find another hotel) and he pretended to not understand our issues. One thing he did understand very well was that our request for a refund on the remaining nights. He told us he needed 72 hours for any cancellation. We never did get our money back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    9
    25
See reviews for
14
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

Our stay was booked for the nights of 5th and 6th September. We arrived early and were told we were too early. The first impressions convinced me not to stay. We told the guy we were staying elsewhere and we wanted to pay him for the night. This man is low life and dirty. He insisted we pay for the two nights. As we are from Ireland in a strange city with little knowledge of the French language, we felt our safety was in jeopardy and gave in.

People please note this review for it is genuine. It is an experience I never want to go through again. The premises should be condemned and the proprietor should jailed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My partner and I went there on a romantic getaway! The location is perfect, you can walk every where, we found it clean, quiet and yes romantic! The breakfasts were wonderful, crepes, fruit cup, croissants, waffles, coffee, orange juice, tea. The owner is a, one man show, who does it all. He did take the time to show us, by map, different sights that we didn't know about and we appreciated that, however, his sense of humour would have to grow on you! I feel he just doesn't know how to be a gracious host! You have to accommodate him, ie, breakfast times, etc. but again, we went there to enjoy ourselves, and we certainly did. The place is lovely, our room was huge with a king size bed, jacuzzi, two sinks, etc. really nice, overlooking the street and it wasn't noisy at all. I would have enjoyed the cabaret that looked to be downstairs, even just for a glass fo wine before bed, but it was closed. The ambience was wonderful, and we enjoyed our visit to Old Quebec immensely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Before THE TRIP, I expected just noraml THREE STAR HOTEL. HOWEVER, I was so disappointed ABOUT DIRTY ROOM, unfriendy services AND OLD FUNITURES. especially furnitures ARE SEEMS LIKE GABAGES FROM THE STREET. I don't really understand how this hotel has three stars. If THIS HOTEL HAS THREE STARS, OTHER MOTEL SUPPOSED TO GET at least 4 OR 5 STARS. ONLY 4 ROOMS AND NO EMPLOYEES. THIS IS NOT EVEN HOTEL. IF YOU WANT TO WASTE MONEY, BOOK THIS HOTEL. Their rate is more like hotel price, but worse than motel. WE supposed to stay one more night in Quebec, but we didn't want to stay this place EVEN FOR one night..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

1) Pire proprietaire de Quebec! Impoli, arrogant et irritant
2) Vous propose un upgrade au telephone sous aucun pretexte
3) Paiement a l'avance! Ne le faites pas!
4) Impression de deranger
5) Mal entretenu et sale
6) Bon ptit dejeuner

1) Worst host in Quebec! Rude, arrogant and irritating
2) Offers an upgrade for no apparent reason
3) Must pay in advance! Don't!
4) Always get the feeling you're bothering him
5) Badly maintained and dirty
6) Good breakfast

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

SERVICE:
The host Gerald, was well prepared to serve in any way. He took the initiative to give a quick tour of Quebec city highlights, major activities (example; free Cirque de Soleil show nearby), suggested choice of restaurants... all clearly marking them on a tourist map he gave us afterwards.
He offered umbrellas to us, as it called for rain.
He was attentive at breakfast and provided an beautifully presented generous breakfast (homemade jams, maple syrup, up to 11 different fresh fruits in the serving!) Did not walk away hungry!
ROOM:
Tastefully decorated room. Clean, comfortable. Bed and mattress provided sound and comfortable sleep. Air conditioning available. Our room was very quiet, faced onto a very quiet back street.
All around very good experience and stay. Would return!
LOCATION / AMMENITIES:
Minutes away on foot from Farmers' Market, VIA rail train station, Petit Champlain district, walled Old Quebec area.
Clean, fresh daily provision of shampoo, soap, towels. (We stayed 2 nights)
LIKED BEST:
Breakfast served in wonderful bistro setting, most guests could be seated along the street-view windows. Location allowed us to drop things off in our room and continue our exploration or shopping on foot.
If you made the effort to chat with and get to know host, Gerald, you discovered his humourous, light side. His dry wit can be misunderstood. He is very approachable. Gerald made many efforts to ensure a pleasant and comfortable stay.
LIKED LEAST:
No all-day parking available with this Bed and Breakfast. We parked in a nearby municipal parking with fees. (But this was worth the many positives above).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Great location between the upper and lower city but:
1. Unbearable proprietor
2. Fixed time for breakfast at 9AM (seemed late to us)
3. No deadbolt or chain lock on room doors (you just need a code) - my wife didn't like this so we baricaded the door with furniture.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Intendant Couette & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Intendant Couette & Cafe

Address: 8 Des-Vaisseaux-Du-Roi, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6T5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Intendant Couette & Cafe 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Intendant Couette & Cafe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Intendant Couette & Cafe Hotel Quebec City
l`Intendant Couette And Cafe
L'Intendant Couette & Cafe Quebec/Quebec City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Intendant Couette & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.