We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Syrian Food Near Jean Talon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Alep

Le Petit Alep
191 rue Jean Talon E, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension)
(514) 270-6396
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Armenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension
Falmouth, MA
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Excellent Syrian Food Near Jean Talon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

While visiting the Jean Talon Market, we stopped for a delightful lunch at Le Petit Alep. The service was excellent with food to match. Our dishes included vegetable soup, lentil soup, chicken tarator, stuffed grape leaves, and a lamb dish. All of them excellent. The only slightly off note was serving small pitas in a plastic bag from the supermarket. The interior is modern with numerous Funky paintings. A good choice!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“An Arabic place with a Canadian twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I visited Le Petit Alep as part of a regular business day when I was taken to it by a client. Here's how my experience went:

1- Location
It is located on Jean Talon, an area a little north west of the Montreal's vibrant downtown area and the trendy Plateau area.It is surrounded by small residential streets and small businesses so if you happen to live in the vicinity you definitely can access the place on foot through a quick walk. If not, wee your best option is either the endless choices of buses which go all along the Jean Talon street or to take the subway. The only drawback of the subway is that the closest station is De Castelau which is still a solid 10 blocks away and you would probably end up taking the bus or a taxi from it to reach Le Petit Alep
The good thing about its location is that it is very much on a crowded street so you will always find a cab or a bus, the downside is that there is no parking spaces should you be coming with your personal car.

2- The place itself
Well the place is called after a city in Arabia yet it does not have much Arabian style from inside. I have been to many Arabian restaurants in the Middle East and they all get distinguished by the unique Arabian architecture and style. Le Petit Alep does not have the same, it is rather a Canadian styled place serving Arabic food. It has two seating section and both are indoors: One is right on entrance level and the other one is accessible through small stairs on an elevated area. One of the things I always notice at restaurants is how close tables are from another. I hate being crammed and hate having the feeling of being seated in my neighbor's mouth. Le Petit Alep is a little bit north of that statement, some tables are very close while others are far, so it all depends on where you get seated

3- Menu and prices
The food is just great, I loved everything I ordered. It definitely reflects its name of being an Arabic cuisine place. From kebabs, to oriental rices, to Arabic meat and even Armenian meals (since there are a lot of Armenians in Aleppo) passing by the special tasty and aromatic Arabic meals in yogurt and lamb meat.....all just tastes great. In closure, they serve you a nice selection of Arabic sweets, those are so yummy but definitely the easiest way to pack up a huge load of calories. To wrap all up you can couple that gorgeous aroma and taste with a nice selection of wines and beers (which us usually a very rare thing in an Arabic restaurant)
Prices are not very expensive and very much affordable

4- Service
The service is not bad at all neither, you are served with a very nice smile without being overwhelming. They ask you if all is Ok and if everything is up to your linking.

I recommend the place if you feel like grabbing a bite at something new and somewhat of an exotic cuisine. There are definitely a lot of Arabic places in Montreal because of the Arabic community so you might end up finding better places but I would say if you are in the vicinity of Le Petit Alep drop by, you will like what is served in there

***Please like my review if you find it helpful***

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howth, Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Top 5 meal ever in a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Awesome meal and service. It was only my second time tasting Syrian food and again it was delicious. Everything was great. The starters were truly memorable and I had never quite tasted some of the flavours/spices used - we especially loved the Mouhamara and Moussaka.

The service was 10/10. A great place to chill out and be guaranteed to have great food. The Syrian wine was actually really good as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best quality-price restaurant in Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

For less that 20$, you eat an excellent shish kebab Terbialy. It is a filet mignon with a spicy red sauce....mmm. For appetizer, you should absolutely take the Mouhamara. They have very good importation wines that you can buy by the glass.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Love the place, great menu, but be prepared for a wait especially if you need a table for 4 or more... (you can have a drink in the meantime). Don't let the wait discourage you, you would miss excellent food

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Alep also viewed

 

Been to Le Petit Alep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Alep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.