We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifteen Minutes from Everywhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Loggia Art & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added La Loggia Art & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
1637 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L4, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Victoria, B.C.
1 review
“Fifteen Minutes from Everywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I spent a couple of days in Montreal this June and after spending them at La Loggia, I deeply regretted not having more time. Rob and Joel were the best hosts imaginable. They helped me get around the city, and made me feel incredibly at home in their beautiful small hotel/art gallery. Beauty is the key word, the rooms themselves are beautiful, and I gotta say the beds in each room were beyond inviting---they were small works of art in themselves.
The small private deck where guests were invited to eat breakfast if they chose, was a nice surprise, a small green haven nestled in the heart of an urban landscape, surrounded by interesting shops and restaurants as well as many examples ofJoel's gorgeous work.
I was really impressed with the location of La Loggia, being new to the city it was great to be within walking distance of old Montreal, a beautiful park, the Metro, and countless other destinations of interest. Everytime I asked Rob or Joel where something was the reply was invariably''Fifteen minutes that way."

  • Liked — location, hosts
  • Disliked — shared bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
101
44
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Stayed 6 nights with Rob and Joel in their lovely B&B. Really appreciated the fresh breakfast each morning, comfortable, quiet rooms (stayed both upstairs and down) and the luxurious beds. La Loggia is really well located in the village close to the metro, Rue St. Catherine and Rue St Denis. Excellent dining was also in the neighbourhood. Rob and Joel were kindly on hand to answer our questions and give directions to the museums and shopping areas. No doubts about why their place is such a success. Highly recommend La Loggia and would not stay any where else when we return to Montreal.

  • Liked — the quiet
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantzville, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Our five day stay at La Loggia was our best ever in a B & B and we would definitely recommend it to others. The charming owners have paid attention to detail and comfort that one doesn’t normally find in a B & B and definitely not in a hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated with original art, the bed was comfortable and we loved the quality of the bedding. Everything is clean and dust free. The patio, where we ate breakfast every morning, was surrounded by sculptures and plants including two cherry trees laden with fruit. The B & B has a great location near 2 metro stops but we usually walked. When we did need a taxi, it was there in two minutes. The friendly hosts, Rob and Joel, provided city maps, festival brochures, restaurant recommendations and information as needed. Breakfast was great and varied. We’d heard about La Loggia through a friend and were delighted to find that the experience exceeded our expectations.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetis Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

We were a group of women who filled La Loggia as a trip to Montreal to celebrate our 50th Birthdays. We were delighted with our rooms - clean, beautifully decorated and comfy beds, linens and duvets. Our breakfasts were always delicious, with a little something different each day. La Loggia is close to everything we needed and attractions we wanted to see, and the neighborhood is very safe for walking about, no matter what time of the day or night. In fact, all of the attractions we wanted to see were either accessible by foot or a two block walk to the Metro to go further afield.

Joel and Rob were extremely helpful with suggestions about where to go and how to get there, whether it was museums or shopping. They were such gracious hosts, and highly attentive to the needs of their guests. They are the perfect blend of friendliness and professionalism. I highly recommend La Loggia. I won't stay anywhere else in future trips to Montreal.

  • Liked — Clean and attractive rooms, highly attentive hosts, close to city attractions and shopping
  • Disliked — Liked everything about the accommodation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

If you are planning a trip to Montreal and want to stay at a fabulous little B&B filled with warmth and character, call La Loggia right away. We stayed four nights; our hosts, Rob and Joel, couldn’t have made us feel more welcome and the accommodations were delightful. It is a combination B&B and art gallery, so original art fills the place. Our room had lovely paintings and ceramics and tasteful furnishings, as well as a comfy bed with cozy comforter, mini kitchenette and a small but modern bathroom. Our room opened into the interior patio with wonderful plants and flowers (hanging pots of ripe tomatoes and two cherry trees brimming with fruit!), chairs and lounges and more sculpture all around. It was a lovely place for an afternoon rest. A self-serve breakfast awaited us each morning on the patio including coffee, teas, juice, cereals, fresh breads or croissant, fresh fruit and a platter of cheese or meats or smoked fish. It was all delicious. And, usually Rob or Joel were around to make us feel welcome and give great advice on navigating, shopping, playing and eating our way around Montreal. La Loggia is in a great neighborhood too. This place is a gem!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borneo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

A friend found me La Loggia in the net and told me that if he was going to Montreal, he'll stay there. That was good enough for me. Now that I have spent a week there, it was indeed good advice. The location is superb, within walking distance to the Metro and chic shops and restaurants. The rooms are clean and elegant and the owners friendly and kind. The best room in the house is the one with attached bathroom overlooking a lovely deck where breakfast is served.

  • Liked — The deck and garden at the back.
  • Disliked — The stairs running up and down
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Stayed at La Loggia over the 4th of July weekend. The innkeepers Joel and Rob are were very helpful, friendly, and genuinely warm. We felt like guests in their home rather than hotel customers.

The room was well appointed and the mattress and linens were very comfortable. The bathroom was only shared with one other room, so it was not a problem.

The breakfast buffet was simple, but good. There was plenty of choice (yogurt, cheese, cereal, toast, and fruit). One morning's breakfast had fresh croissants and the next had bagels from Fairmont with smoked salmon and capers.

The B&B is very close to the Village neighborhood and the Beaudry/ Berri UQAM Metro Stations. The neighborhood and city as a whole is quite bicycle friendly. Many of the major streets have bicycle lanes. You can store your bicycle in the courtyard/Joel's studio.

Overall, I'd highly recommend the La Loggia Art and Breakfast and plan on staying there again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — being in an albeit nice basement room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Loggia Art & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loggia Art & Breakfast

Address: 1637 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have transformed the magnificent art studio of modernist painter Marcel Barbeau into a charming guest room. This magic space has skylights,11 foot ceilings and is located at the back of the house under the backyard patio.Decorated with a combination of modern and antique furnishings and gallery artwork, it is has a TV, a stereo system, an exercise area with free weights and mirrors and a ceiling fan for your comfort. The private bathroom is equipped with a shower. This very large space also has a sofa bed so it can easily accommodate up to 4 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Loggia Art & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Loggia Art & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.