We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B, as well as great company!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Loggia Art & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Loggia Art & Breakfast to your Saves list
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
1637 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L4, Canada (The Village (Gay Village))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Wonderful B&B, as well as great company!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at La Loggia, and I couldn't say enough about how lovely this B&B is. Rob and Joel are kind, warm people. They know a ton about Montreal and had plenty of suggestions when we weren't sure what to do there. Breakfast was very nice too! Joel's sculptures definitely add a nice touch to the decor, which sounds cheesy, but as an artist, it's very nice to be around art. The neighborhood was creative and colorful. Rob & Joel provided us with a list of their favorite restaurants & things to do in the city, and let me just say, the restaurants were perfect for us!

I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
119
50
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at La Loggia for a long weekend and really can't sing the praises of this charming bed and breakfast enough. It was cozy and private, exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated, but the owner Rob (we didn't get to meet Joel because he was out of town-must come back!) was one of the most genuinely nice and warm people we have ever had the pleasure of knowing. We had a lovely time in the courtyard eating breakfast, and thanks to Rob's directions and explanations (we even called a few times when we were lost) we found our way around the beautiful city of Montreal and had a fantastic time exploring the city both on bicycle and walking. I have stayed at other bed and breakfasts but both my boyfriend and I agree this experience was at the top of the list. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed several days at La Loggia and it was amazing!!! Rob was extremely helpful and provided great suggestions for activities and restaurants. The patio was filled with blooming flowers and beautiful paintings and artwork graced the entire house created by Rob's partner, a very talented artist.. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. We would definitely return to LaLoggia on our next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My sister and I had a great stay at La Loggia! The room was clean and cosy. We loved that it felt like we were in our own home. Rob was a great host - he gave us a lot of great suggestions and resources about what we should do while we were in Montreal. He even gave us access to his back yard to park our bikes safely and his parking space to park our car for free! We also loved the fresh fruit and healthy options for breakfast. It was also in a great neighborhood (very accessible to everything, while being quiet).

We definitely want to be back and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

There really isn't much more I can add to previous reviews. Suffice to say that all the good things written are totally true. The rooms are lovely and cosy, the location excellent, the breakfasts superb etc. But what sets this place apart is the wonderful hospitality of Rob and Joel - such genuine, lovely people.

Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We LOVED our stay at La Loggia and our wonderful hosts Rob & Joelle. Gorgeous interiors and outdoor deck, great food and comfy beds. As vegans we're always worried about staying at a B&B because we fear that we'll be served a bowl of cereal and a box of soy milk. Rob was incredibly accommodating and whipped up a tofu scramble in various forms each morning -and all delicious! Fresh fruit, skillet potatoes and more - we couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommended!!!! Be warned - you'll want to move to Montreal!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Rob, one of the two owners, was waiting on the sidewalk for my arrival; a warmer welcome would not have been possible. It is like being invited into a private home. Rob immediately remembers everyone's name, and introduces each guest at the breakfast table. This helps to avoid the initial uneasy silence when sitting for the first time with strangers. The owners interact with the guests, and actually draw them out. It is a house full of art and sculpture, and the artistic sensibility extends to the hosts. They are truly interested in hearing everyone's story. Sitting in the adjacent living room is an option for guests who are not in the mood to chat at the breakfast table. The rooms are comfortable, extra pillows abound, and one gets the feeling of being totally pampered.
I look forward to my next trip to Montreal, ad staying at this remarkable B&B.

Room Tip: I did not see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Loggia Art & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loggia Art & Breakfast

Address: 1637 Amherst, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in The Village, two blocks from the Ste. Catherine pedestrian mall, five blocks from the St. Lawrence River Walkway and the Old Port of Montreal. 5 - 10 Blocks from Park La fontaine, Place des Arts and all the music festivals, adjacent to the Quartier Latin and The Plateau neighbourhoods. Three subway lines intersect at Beri/UQAM Metro two blocks from the house. 1870 Brownstone built by a local ships captain, entirely updated and comfortable, brimming with works of local artists, high thread count cottons sheets and duvet covers. Six pillows per room of different densities, free wifi, and a plentiful breakfast of the highest quality local offerings to get our guests going for a wonderful day of sightseeing in Montreal. If you are a cyclist we have easy secure parking for your bikes through our back gate from the back alley. Montreal boasts 650 km of dedicated bike paths and is one of the safest cities in the world for biking. In the summer we serve breakfast in our beautiful urban garden and terrase. During cooler periods in our dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your La Loggia Art & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Loggia Art & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.