We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of le Surcouf

le Surcouf
51 rue Ste-Anne, Montreal, Quebec H9X 1L5, Canada
514-457-6699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $51 - $204
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have dined here many times over the years. In the past we have purchased gift certificates online at a 50% discount, making it very reasonable. The food is good and has the feel of a family run establishment. Very nice table d'hote and tasty food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Been going here regularly for over a decade. Good food, pleasant setting and atmosphere but especially it has lovely friendly staff. Just a relaxing place to have an unhurried and tasty meal at very reasonable prices. Certainly the bestbresto in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We've been there few times, like 4 or 5 and it was always very good. The service was always friendly as well. It's cheaper than similar restaurant you'll find downtown and it saves you the drive and parking fees if you live in the west island.

Last time we had the Filet Mignon with a Foie Gras creme brulé for the appetizer and it came perfect, with a yummy shiitake sauce. They don't do anything exotic, so don't expect anything out of the beaten tracks like Austrich, Deer, etc., but for very well done high class French cuisine, we highly recommend it.

They also have a very good selection of imported wines at very reasonable prices. They have a lot of bottles in the 40-60$ range.

Definitely one of the best restaurants in the West Island. It's usually full on Saturdays.

Enjoy your dinner.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I moved to the west island in 2006 and tried out this excellent resto because of a coupon in the Welcome Wagon basket. I had no idea what I was in for, but what a treat!

The restaurant is located in an old house in Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, a stone's throw away from the boardwalk. The decor inside is very cozy, and reminds me of a 19th century home with a few modern touches.

The food is high end, and we've never been disappointed. The steak tartare is my favorite (although I could do without the veggies). All the appetizers are amazing (especially anything with foie gras), and the meat and fish are always cooked to perfection. By the time we get to desert, we're already loosening our belts, but it is worth every penny! I especially love the homemade fruit sorbets, and the complimentary chocolate-covered candied grapefruit is always a treat.

The staff is knowledgeable and always suggests appropriate wine pairings that fit within our budget. The menu changes regularly, as does the wine lists with different, reasonably-prices private imports for us to try.

Of note, there is a table d'hôte menu and nice à la carte menu, and for weekday evenings there's a lower-priced "bistro"-type menu with slightly simpler, lighter offerings.

The Surcouf is the restaurant we go to, without fail, to celebrate special occasions and have a great time with the friendly staff and wonderful food.

Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

We recently visited and ate at the West Island establishment. We were surprised that once we took the time to do the math there was only a one dollar difference between the A la Carte menu and the Table d'Hote. Regardless we decided upon our dinner and I have to say that for we were very disappointed by the quality of the food. The vegetables were way over cooked, my meat was tough and rather uninspired. All in all a disappointing evening for the price we paid.
Avoid this overpriced tourist trap!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Surcouf also viewed

Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec
 
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec
 

Been to le Surcouf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le Surcouf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.