We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great poutine, nice beer selection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of frites alors

frites alors
9 avenue, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie)
Improve this listing
Ranked #808 of 4,416 Restaurants in Montreal
Neighborhood: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Hancock, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great poutine, nice beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

La Banquise may have invented poutine (who knows?) but Frites Alors! has perfected it. Their frites are considerably better than other popular poutine places such as La Banquise, La Belle Province, etc. Good cheese curds and nice gravy as well as a very good selection of topping options. They have a very nice selection of beers that go well with poutine. Free WiFi is a plus.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best poutine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stopped here for poutine after getting a tip from a friend that graduated from McGill. Wanted to try authentic Montreal goodies, and knew that poutine and smoked meat sandwiches were the way to go. Definitely pleased!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
417 reviews 417 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“I was a poutine virgin!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Having heard about poutine from my sister who now lives in Canada I had to try it ,we choose frites alors as it was close to our hotel.Greeted by a friendly waitress who was polite and offered us an English menu when my schoolgirl French failed me on bell peppers. As i was not convinced about gravy and cheese on my chips we choose poutine and the house burger to share . Good choice.Only criticism would be that the toilets could do with a good scrub.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Mmmm poutine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Love love love the poutine with merguez. It's wonderful, and filling! I really like that they are liscensed and the wine is inexpensive and good.

Service was okay. Everyone was very polite, but I would have preferred if they refilled our water and such.

Restaurant, including w/c, was very clean.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Top Contributor
625 reviews 625 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“Despite all the warnings, I have yet to have a heart attack.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We wanted poutine. None of the reviews around the hotel we were staying in were raving. Here, they should have been.

Aside from the fact that the waitress stopped speaking to me in French the moment she realized it wasn't my first language, and the completely nonsensical comics about colonialism on the walls, this place was everything we were looking for, and so much more-- especially quantity-wise.

My boyfriend got a veggie burger, which is always geocached away in Montreal, and it was delicious. The salad it came with had a bizarre mustardy dressing, but who eats salad when you get a GIANT TERRINE OF POUTINE?

We got the one with mushrooms, onions, and peppers (asked for no bacon), and attacked it. The gravy was hearty, and the mixture of soggy fries with crispy ones-- could I make it sound any tastier?-- was unlike anything we can get in California. I'm completely unclear why. The mushrooms were a brilliant addition, too. We were hurtin after we downed the entire thing, in the best of ways.

And despite all the warnings, I have yet to have a heart attack. I'll keep you posted.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed frites alors also viewed

 

Been to frites alors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage frites alors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.