We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chicken Tandoori” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Resto Darbar

Resto Darbar
2027 St-Laurent, Montreal, Quebec H2X 2T3 , Canada
+1 514-982-3724
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 4,550 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Description: Resto Darbar features the cuisine of Punjab (Northern India); a reinvention of classic North Indian cuisine for today's more discriminating palate. With over 30 years of experience, our chefs are constantly rethinking the classic Punjabi dishes. Simply said, our vision at Darbar is to showcase the food of modern Punjab: bold, healthy, and flavor-intenseEvery aspect of Darbar – the food, the decor, the ambience is designed to excite the senses while honouring the Punjabi tradition. Exclusively set in one of the most hip and flamboyant cities in the world, Darbar offers a vibrant lounge atmosphere and outdoor terrace where sophistication meshes seamlessly with style.
København
1 review
“Best Chicken Tandoori”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A really nice, small and well decorated Indian restaurant. We've never had better chicken tandoori, but some of their small dishes were not perfectly heated. Hence 'only' 4 stars. But definitely the place to go if you want Indian in Montreal. It doesn't come better at this very reasonable price level.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Resto Darbar is definitely a good stop for Indian food. My husband and I had a late lunch there one day when the restaurant was mostly empty. Our food was excellent. That said, the bathroom was not particularly clean and I found a small piece of plastic in my salad (like from a wrapper), that did make me question the cleanliness. However, maybe that was just bad luck, since even at the best restaurant things happen. We still thought that the food was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly family, Tasty food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I had supper here 2 weeks ago. First time in this restaurant due to an indian food craving. .The Owner was an extremely friendly lady always willing to help and have a chat. Restaurant is cozy , Staff was helpful. The food was very good , the restaurant was clean .2 main meals along with tea for each of us, and 2 desserts approx. 50 $ + Tip . A little pricy for regular portions but decent nonetheless. The plate had a variety of food yet portions were small.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best indian restaurant in Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is my second visit to this restaurant. I was there with my wife many years ago, and I had forgotten how good the food is. Service is great and with a smile. The restaurant is small so reserve ahead if you're a group.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“BEST indian food in my entire life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

A must-go for indian food victims like me! Its the best indian food i ever had in my life, and believe me, i've had a lot!!! The athmospere is very authentic, i was the only non indian guest in the restaurant... I just loved it and am definitely coming back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Resto Darbar also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Resto Darbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resto Darbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.