We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of crescendo

crescendo
5150 boul.Lasalle, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
514-766-2171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,965 of 4,413 restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, service and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

An amazing location, set in a park and overlooking the river. The food was really good, as was the service. Quite a gem in quiet little Verdun. The outdoor terrace overlooks the river and is screened in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    4
    11
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice - If You Can Afford It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went for breakfast after arriving on a red-eye flight to Montreal. As many others have mentioned, you are paying for the nice view. The food was pricey but good and the service was slow but friendly. It was a fine place to refuel our tired selves before dropping off our bags nearby and heading out to explore

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Ambience not cuisine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

As others have said – this is nothing special. But it is one of the few places to have lunch along the bike path – to the west of Montreal. (Plenty of parking for bikers along the road or in the lot going LaSalle to Dorval and bike towards downtown - bike down past this restaurant on the way / way back..)
The emphasis is on breakfast – through to early afternoon. Don’t hit this place around 2:00 p..m. – they seem confused as to whether you can order breakfast or you have to wait “while they clean the kitchen” and start the dinner menu.
Nothing marvelous here – have to admit the waffles were soft not crispy and it was hard to differentiate between pancake and waffle. Suspect the same mix! Syrup thin and somewhat watery. The fruit was fresh, ripe and plentiful and the coffee quite good. Staff were pleasant if always appearing rushed.
The ambience was what it was all about – on the terrace by the water people watching along the bike path. (There’s a bike stand by the path so you can keep an eye on things.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“For the view, location and nice seating, it's a great restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went for brunch, it was good food, nothing magical, but we ate well. Great choice on menus, varieties. Portion of food are big. The view is great, that is what brings people in. Scenic view! I would go back just because of the view / location. Service was ok.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat anytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We made our reservations reserved beforehand but the place was full by about 7pm. The restaurant is a nice romantic place on Saturday night. However, we did see another couple which looked like a few months old baby. They were also there enjoying a nice supper with 2 other couples and the baby was very quiet we never heard the baby complain (good baby)! The food is great you can choose from the “Table D’Hote” which has many items to choose from at different prices. The prices are reasonable and the food it really good which is also with the service you get. We never had a problem food was hot and dishes were removed to clear the table when the dishes were empty. We have eaten at this place many times before and never been disappointed either for the breakfast, lunch or supper. We will definitely keep going back especially when the terrace opens as the weather gets nice! Shiba

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed crescendo also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to crescendo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage crescendo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.