We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run italian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of il Piatto Pieno

il Piatto Pieno
177, St-Zotique est, Montreal, Quebec H2S 1K9, Canada (Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie)
514 773-1616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,611 of 4,416 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great family run italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The place is often packed but it is worth the wait. Food is quite good and very fresh. The pizza is one of the best in little italy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    31
    14
    11
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Affordable, delicious Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I love the pizza at Piatto Pieno. The dough is made from scratch and not frozen like many other Montreal pizzerias. Toppings are first grade and always fresh. I've never had their pasta, but my dinner companions raved about their meals.The fact that this is a "bring your own wine" restaurant makes it quite affordable. I love sitting outside in the summer time in the small enclosed courtyard. My only qualm with this restaurant is the service. I've been many times and find that the service isn't alway consistent. Sometimes, on a quiet day, service will be fast but if you happen to be there on a very busy day, then you might be disappointed by the promptness of the service. But whether fast or slow, service is always with a smile.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Italian Bring Your Own Wine in Montreal!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For such a huge restaurant, the food quality, the service and the ambiance are amazing! I have no idea what people who gave bad reviews were expecting and I was even wondering if it was the same restaurant!

The appetizers were great, the pasta was divine and we cannot wait to go back to try the pizza!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Il PIATTO PIENO = IL PIATTO TERRIBILE !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you are looking for terrible food, then look no further. Il Piatto Pieno located on St-Zotique in Little Italy is one of the worst restaurants in Montreal. The food is simply not fresh, badly cooked and tasteless. I got sick after eating there. I hope health inspectors pay these guys a visit on a weekly basis. NEVER will I go back!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and affordable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I love this retaurant! I have been there with my husband many times, took my family and friends and we are always pleased with the delicious italian food. It's home made italian food, large portions and fresh salads are great ! And you bring your own wine so the bill is very affordable! For the last 5 years, Piatto Pieno has been my favorite restaurant. They also have a terrasse in the back which I love! Bon Appétit!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il Piatto Pieno also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to il Piatto Pieno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il Piatto Pieno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.