We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to Be Missed Neighborhood Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Deux Singes de Montarvie

Les Deux Singes de Montarvie
176 Rue Saint Viateur Ouest, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
514-278-6854
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Les Deux Singes de Montarvie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4,521 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Cross street: De l'Esplanade & Waverly
Transit: Metro Rosemont. Bus 55 St-Laurent, stop at St-Viateur Street.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to Be Missed Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We can't say enough about this whole experience....we like to sit at the bar and watch the chef's performance which, in this case, was so smoothly orchestrated and artistic that you could make it your whole evening's entertainment. I had the special appetizer: Salmon Tartare, and my husband had the Wild Mushroom Risotto to start. Both were not only works of art, but supremely tasty! For a main course, we had the Homemade Lobster Sausage - a long-standing staple of the restaurant (there's good reason they keep it going) - and the Fish of the Day, which in this case was a Halibut....both were delicious! Watching the owner - Nada - and the chef (who took over only within the last three months) work together was fascinating....their attention to detail was admirable, and their coordination made the service impeccable. A real neighborhood gem! Atmosphere is a little funky, but nice and quiet...you can actually hear the others in your party talk!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    41
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You will Never be disappointed with the food!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was the second time we went to Deux Singes, and the food I think was even better than the first time, and the first time was excellent! What a great place! We had a bottle of Renaud white wine ($49) with our meal, and ordered the grilled squid, which is amazing, and tried the starter wild mushroom risotto, which was yummy on the palate, but a bit liquid on the bottom, yet cooked to perfection. Then we ordered the filet mignon which was cooked as we like it, and of the highest quality melt in your mouth meat, and the fish of the day, a Salmondine on a quinoa base with a bacon/pecan sauce-TO DIE FOR! LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE! Also, the Lobster Sausage that someone ordered at another table looked amazing, so I will try it next time. For dessert, last time I was there, we ordered an ile flotante, that came as a single portion with chopped walnut, blueberry, raspberry creme anglaise type base...and it was very, very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Easily the best restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Les Deux Singes is easily the best restaurant in town.
From the lamps made out of recycled kitchenware to the extremely friendly owner and lovely staff, it is more than easy to feel at home.
Note that I come to this place very often. Having said that, and having tried every dish on the menu, from the very tender beef bavette to the very intriguing marinated squids, I can freely say that the price is worth paying just to stare at the exquisite masterpieces that show up in front of you. And the taste... it just leaves me wanting more.
PS: the monkey X-rays on the walls are extremely cool to stare at.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go Now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We found this restaurant via NYTimes review and it lived up to expectations and beyond! The whole experience was delightful - from being served by the owner to having the chef write out precise directions out of the city on a small napkin! The food is exquisite, creative, perfectly proportioned and delicious. Go now to Les Deux Singes (2 Monkeys) in this hip neighborhood before the chef (remarkable 24 year old) gets discovered and moves on. One of the best meals I have ever eaten anywhere in the world!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

What a fabulous place! Quaint little bistro with a highly innovative chef and wonderful service. From the amuse bouche all the way through dessert every dish was beautifully prepared, innovative and delicious. This place is a gem and a wonderful discovery for my wife and I. We will revisit again and again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Deux Singes de Montarvie also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Les Deux Singes de Montarvie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Deux Singes de Montarvie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.