We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THE" Pho place in Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Lien

Pho Lien
5703 cote des neiges, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace)
514-735-6949
Improve this listing
Ranked #466 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Neighborhood: Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“"THE" Pho place in Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

As a local, I eat at this restaurant all the time and for as long as I can remember ...

Don't expect fancy décor and a 5 star meal. This place is known for 3 things: Pho Soup, Fried Dough with Eggs (Banh Bot Chien) and the Red Beans Desert (Chè). However, they have an extensive menu with grilled meat, rolls and set selections. It is a good sign when you see lots of Viets eats here!

It can get very crowded during rush hour because it is situated near a hospital and lots of offices. So you might have to wait in line, eat fast and go!

If you are visiting Montreal and want to eat good Vietnamese food at affordable price, this is the place for you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Chicken Pho”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

On a Monday night, this place was packed at 8pm. The food is fresh and hot, and excellent pho ga broth. Parking is not easy, all paid street parking if you can get one, and this is a CASH only business. I feel that CASH only business owners lack integrity and inconvenience their customers. It's all about THEM, not you, and they find ways to avoid government taxes with CASH only. They are busy enough to offer more payment options. I paid 6.90 for a small pho ga on a Monday night, must have been discounted, because the menu shows a higher price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“not just a hole in the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is the best vietnamese restaurant in this area. no matter what time of the year, you will expect a line up. sure you will smell like the soup you are eating but you come out of there with a tummy filled to your satisfaction at a cheap, reasonable price. you have selections of noodle soup and then you have the spring rolls. make sure you skip lunch before going, to make room to get filled up. then, the best of all, try their drinks....the one with the mung beans and some jelly stuff....I am hungry again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The lineup of awaiting customers says it all..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

As soon as you walk in the door and the smell of the soup hits your "hunger-factor" increases by at least 3 or 4 and you'll invariably say to yourself "Oh, I was hungrier that I thought"..

The Dac-Biet soup (the one with a little of everything) is their specialty,
another great dish is the "rice and egg-pancake" which is kind of like fried "mochi" in egg.

The rest of the menu is pretty good and "above-average"

I guess the only fault I can see is that since it is a smaller restaurant and has fewer seats, there is often a waiting line..
But a waiting line also means two things; first that there is a good turnaround and the food should be fresh, and second that if so many others are also there waiting, the food can't be all that bad.

(Closed Tuesdays, oddly enough that's also usually the day that I most often feel like having Pho)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nothing more than average Vietnamese Cuisine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I'm Vietnamese, and thus I've had a lot of pho (Vietnamese chicken or beef noodle soup) before. This was most definitely not the best pho I've had before. To be honest, the pho was actually kind of bad. I could tell that the pho was not "fresh" so to say because the broth was very murky. The broth should have had a relatively strong aroma, but it did not. There was way more noodles in proportion to the meat, which is fine I guess if you don't really like meat, but then what's the point of eating pho? As for some of the other items on the menu besides pho, the lemon grass chicken with vermicilli noodles was terrible. The noodles were all broken up either because they were cooked for too long or because they were being re-used from the day before. There was a barely a hint of lemon grass in the chicken, and the chicken itself had not been properly trimmed. I had to add so much siracha into my noodles because they were so bland. If you have no experience with Vietnamese cuisine, then you'll probably like this place, but if you, like me, have had a lot of Vietnamese food before, then you'll probably be disappointed. I recommend skipping this place, which isn't that cheap for the quality of food you get anyways, and picking a restaurant in Chinatown instead.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Lien also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Pho Lien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Lien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.