We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duc de Lorraine great cozy cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duc de Lorraine

Duc de Lorraine
5002 Ch de la Cote des Neiges, Montreal, Quebec H3V1G6, Canada (Parc du Mont-Royal)
+1 514-731-4128
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,669 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Bistro, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Parc du Mont-Royal
Description: Depuis 1952, la patisserie Duc de Lorraine conserve les recettes anciennes et les savants secrets qui font les delices des gourmets. Charcuteries fines et delicates a la mode francaise, fromages raffines et exclusifs, glaces maison, tartes et gateau que vous degusterez sur place ou que vous pouvez commander pour emporter.
Front Royal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Duc de Lorraine great cozy cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Duc de Lorraine is a great cozy cafe in the shadow of St. Joseph's oratory and in a lovely neighborhood. We discovered the french-style cafe during the first of a three day visit to Montreal, and returned every day after until our departure. We tried cappuccino, pastries and lunch food, and both the food and service were first rate and offered at a reasonable price. The cafe is very comfortable, and the staff is both personable and professional. Highly recommended especially if you visit the Oratory.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy cafe .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Nice place , Nice music .
We love their pastries . Its good if you want to spend time alone or with a friend .
Its warm and cozy in the winter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“best looking staff & great baba cake in rum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place was recommended to us by a local. We wanted a nice lunch after a few hours at the St. Joseph Oratorium. The staff is not only pleasant but also "easy on the eye". My teens were over the moon with the staff. Frankly I had never seen so many handsome young men & women working in a small cafe. But getting back to food, the pizza was very good as well as baba in rum. We also had broccoli soup and sandwiches, which were OK. We had a bottle of organic French apple cider (a bit pricey at $!5 per bottle)that was delicious and smooth.
After lunch we walked to Mont du Royal which is about 20-25 min walk up the hill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The almond croissants are to die for. Please go to Duc De Lorraine if you have a craving for some fine french dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Near-perfect mille-feuille”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a delicious quiche lorraine + garden salad, a near-perfect mille-feuille (to me the sugar icing was too much and there is no place for chocolate drizzle on the perfect mille-feuille), and an ok almond croissant (a bit too dry). Servers were extremely polite. The weather was nice so we ate outside looking up at the Oratoire St. Joseph. If you are visiting the Oratoire and you like french pastries, this place is perfect for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duc de Lorraine also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Duc de Lorraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duc de Lorraine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.