We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always superlative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Beef

Joe Beef
2491-2501 Rue Notre-Dame, Montreal, Quebec H3J 1N6, Canada
514 935-6504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $22 - $86
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Charlevoix
Mississauga
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Always superlative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been to this restaurant on several occasions, it is one of the best I have been to. The cuisine is cutting edge, the wait staff are constantly being trained, wine suggestions and wine list top of the line, great ambience. It is NOT a steakhouse, yes they have steak, but really the prime emphasis is seafood. The lobster spaghetti is incredible. Very good oysters. Pate du fois gras some of the best I've had. It will always be one of my favorite restaurants in Montreal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    79
    39
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulously frumpy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend lives within walking distance of Joe Beef and I've been wanting to try the place for over a year.

We finally came around to making reservations after seeing the place lisTed as Montreal's best steakhouse in a couple of lists.

The atmosphere is cool in an urband restaurant kind of way, though pretty loud (definitely not a quiet romantic evening). The service was extremely friendly and we didn't mind the chalk board menu.

We both weren't crazy about our apetizers, but we should have skipped them anyway because our pieces of meat were ENORMOUS and so delicious that we over ate just to finnish them off (and we skipped desert because we couldn't eat a single additionnal bite).

All in all, we're glad we tried it, but didn't think the global experience over the top.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Need a try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Try the cornflake eal,horse tartar,and filet of horse.out of this world.i would say that the sauces are amazing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Made reservations 3 months ahead of time. you quickly understand why.... Went here with my wife and another couple. This place is a dining experience. The place is small quaint, not fancy. What is outstanding is the food and the service. This is the difference that a chef makes. There is an actual chef preparing the dishes in the kitchen. Not merely someone putting the food in plates. Each dish is hand prepared and hand made. Nothing is frozen and pre made.
We had the fillet mignon, oysters, lobster spaghetti, home made onion rings.. The service was outstanding. The portions are generous.
Expect to pay 100$ a head. Worth every penny.
Well done Joe Beef!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went there for a birthday dinner.heard a lot about this place.one of the top 5 meal i had in my expérience .try the cornflake eal,horse tartar,and filet of horse.out of this world.i would say that the sauces are amazing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Beef also viewed

 

Been to Joe Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Beef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.