We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Cucina

La Cucina
5134 St-Laurent, Montreal, Quebec H2T 1R8, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
514-495-1131
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,713 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Neighborhood: Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Meh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our whole party ordered different pastas, all of which were overcooked and covered in uninspired sauces. The bread was decent, but I don't think the bottle of dipping oil had ever been cleaned because it was a slippery mess. There is much better food to be had in this city.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One or fthe wost experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I have to start by saying that the main dish was good but it all got bad when I bid in domething cruchy and hard while having desert. I took the piece out of my mouth and found out I had a piece of glass in my ice cream. I was not injured, thanks god.. Not only did I have to pay for both meals but we had a hard time getting the manager to see us and discuss what happened.

It was a business lunch so I did not make a fuss out of it but promised myself I would write o trip advisor mainly because teh service and the reaction to the event was greatly minimized by teh manager.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Right between 'Poor' and 'Average'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

It was the month of May and the weather was just getting better; so a terrace with nice trees decorated in Christmas lights looked enticing after an afternoon walk on St-Laurent.

There was absolutely nothing special about what we ate; the pasta was average, the pizza was average, but the bill was just a tad above average (not to say it was expensive, but for that price you can get way more value in that neighborhood).

You can go for an afternoon tea or drinks to get the garden feel in the middle of St-Laurent Street, but I know I won't be back there.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

Ordinary

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bonne bouffe, belle terasse. Good food, nice terrace.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

Bonne bouffe, belle terasse.
Good food, nice terrace.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucina also viewed

 

Been to La Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.